The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 706
Serve Point? Or Side Out Point?

A-S1 steps on the line, then contacts the ball
B-S1 consumes more than 5 seconds before contacting the ball
C-S1 throws the ball into the air and the ball contacts the net of the 'vertical obstruction'
D-S1 contacts the ball outside of the serving area
E-S1 contacts the ball but the ball fails to pass over the net
F-S1 contacts the ball and the ball passes over the net OUTSIDE the antenna
G-S1 contacts the ball and the ball passes over the net WITHIN the antennas and lands Out of Bounds

For ALL of the above plays, Team R is Out of Rotation

What Team receives the Point?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 657
S receives the point. Whenever S faults, and R is out of alignment/rotation, S receives the point, by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
S receives the point. Whenever S faults, and R is out of alignment/rotation, S receives the point, by rule.
Not so fast.

A, B, C, and D are Illegal Serves and the point/Loss of Rally is awarded to R.

E, F, and G are Service Faults and the point is awarded to S.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2019, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Middleman View Post
Not so fast.

A, B, C, and D are Illegal Serves and the point/Loss of Rally is awarded to R.

E, F, and G are Service Faults and the point is awarded to S.
Agreed (at least without looking at the book).

R is not "out of rotation" until the serve is legally contacted -- that didn't happen in A-D, so it's R's point.

And, R is out of rotation as soon as the serve is legally contacted, so the ball is dead and the rest of the serve (landing in the net / out of bounds, etc.) never happened. S's point.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 11, 2019, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by middleman View Post
not so fast.

A, b, c, and d are illegal serves and the point/loss of rally is awarded to r.

E, f, and g are service faults and the point is awarded to s.
agreed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2-point try sorrydog Football 2 Sat Oct 12, 2013 06:15pm
Three (3) point attempt made, then changed to a 2 point goal johnny1784 Basketball 24 Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:25am
What's the Point? tarheelcoach Basketball 63 Thu Jan 27, 2005 04:32pm
At what point..... w_sohl Baseball 2 Mon May 10, 2004 01:01pm
at what point George Heagerty Basketball 14 Mon Dec 27, 1999 04:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1