![]() |
Serve Point? Or Side Out Point?
A-S1 steps on the line, then contacts the ball
B-S1 consumes more than 5 seconds before contacting the ball C-S1 throws the ball into the air and the ball contacts the net of the 'vertical obstruction' D-S1 contacts the ball outside of the serving area E-S1 contacts the ball but the ball fails to pass over the net F-S1 contacts the ball and the ball passes over the net OUTSIDE the antenna G-S1 contacts the ball and the ball passes over the net WITHIN the antennas and lands Out of Bounds For ALL of the above plays, Team R is Out of Rotation What Team receives the Point? |
S receives the point. Whenever S faults, and R is out of alignment/rotation, S receives the point, by rule.
|
Quote:
A, B, C, and D are Illegal Serves and the point/Loss of Rally is awarded to R. E, F, and G are Service Faults and the point is awarded to S. |
Quote:
R is not "out of rotation" until the serve is legally contacted -- that didn't happen in A-D, so it's R's point. And, R is out of rotation as soon as the serve is legally contacted, so the ball is dead and the rest of the serve (landing in the net / out of bounds, etc.) never happened. S's point. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13pm. |