The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member

First off, I'm an upset coach, I'll let you know that up front!

I'm looking for the official's viewpoint here, because I guess I'm missing something.

Situation - middle school game - 43-42 visitors with 17 seconds left. We are the home team. We give the foul to put the visitor's on the line, when the ref comes over and gives the sign for a T. I ask for an explanation and this what I get - "Your assistant stood up during the play - that's a technical."

Opposing player hits two free throws, we miss 2 3pt. attempts at the end, and lose 45-42.

Why in the world would the ref make that call in that situation?

Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member

Why was your asst. coach standing up?
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref

Why did your players miss 2 shots to win the game?
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member

Why are we jumping on this coach? Do you think an assistant standing is worth deciding a game on? Let the players determine who wins.
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by zebra44
Why are we jumping on this coach? Do you think an assistant standing is worth deciding a game on? Let the players determine who wins.
The players did determine the winner.

The coach's team had 2 opportunities to tie or win.
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member

I'm asking for an official's point of view - is there any reasoning behind this call? The assistant didn't even speak to the refs - he was telling our PG to give the foul.

I never said we didn't have our chances - but the call obviously affected the game.
Old Tue Jan 25, 2005, 10:11pm
Administrator

Quote:
Originally posted by tarheelcoach