The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2016, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycat1 View Post
I am curious on all other officials thoughts on the following play if this would be a net violation or not!!!!!!!!!!

R6 first team contact passes the ball toward the center of the net and above the height of the net to R3 (front row setter). S4 thinks that R3 may dump the ball on the 2nd team contact and goes up to block the ball if R3 is dumping the ball. R3 does not dump the ball (thus does not attack the ball) but sets it to the side of her court to R2 to attack. S4 realizes that the ball is not coming over and relaxes slightly on her way down from the non-blocking attempt and slightly touches the net. What is the call if any?

I have talked to many National officials that said since S4 is in the act of the attempt of blocking the ball then she has committed a net violation when she touches the net whether or not if the ball comes over the net or into the plane of the net.

I tend to disagree because if the player has no ball coming over from the other side of the net after a team's 1st, 2nd or 3rd hit (any attack hit) then she has not made a play on the ball and thus cannot possibly have a net fault since she was not in the act of playing the ball.

(I know if you reach over and block or touch the ball that would be a reach over violation).

Please let me know your interpretation of the rule and this case play!

Am I reading the rule incorrectly?
This is in fact a net fault. As described, the blocker is in the act of playing the ball. Whether the ball crosses the net is irrelevant in her act of playing the ball. The rule says nothing about "making a play on the ball". The fault, as described in your situation, should be whistled.

"11.4 PLAYER'S FAULTS AT THE NET
11.4.4. A player interferes with play by (amongst others):
- touching the net between the antennae or the antenna itself during
his/her action of playing the ball,
- using the net between the antennae as a support or stabilizing aid
- creating an unfair advantage over the opponent by touching the net
- making actions which hinder an opponent’s legitimate attempt to play
the ball,
- catching/holding on to the net.
Players close to the ball as it is played, or who are trying to play it, are
considered in the action of playing the ball, even if no contact is made
with the ball.

However, touching the net outside the antenna is not to be considered a
fault (except for Rule 9.1.3)."

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavbref View Post
Incidental contact like brushing the net while moving into position to play the ball or hitting the net after returning to the floor from an attempted block or attack is not a net fault.
Incorrect. If you're moving to play the ball, you are considered in the act of playing the ball. If you make contact with the net while transitioning into playing the ball (going to block), you are in the act of playing the ball, so the fault is to be whistled. You are no longer to be considered "in the act of playing the ball" when you transition away from the net.

- Brushing the net getting into position to block: fault
- Touching the net on the way up to block: fault
- Touching the net while in the act of blocking: fault
- Touching the net on your way down from blocking: fault
- Landing into the net when you return from the floor: fault
- Brushing the net as you turn away from the net: No fault

It's best to not use words that aren't in the rule verbiage as "incidental" has no relevance to the rule and/or its application.

Last edited by Antonio.King; Mon Mar 21, 2016 at 11:20pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAVO Refschool Practice Test pavbref Volleyball 1 Mon Aug 04, 2014 12:34pm
Here's one for you (USAV Rules) FMadera Volleyball 8 Tue Mar 04, 2014 05:53pm
PAVO Refschool practice tests pavbref Volleyball 10 Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:00am
PAVO membership? jkumpire Volleyball 1 Tue Jul 26, 2011 02:43am
Are all ref's members of PAVO too? OmniSpiker Volleyball 6 Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1