![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
To me, 4.6.c.1 and 4.6.c.3/4 are contradictory or at least inconsistent. The 4.6.c.1 says "all action stands", which seems to mean no outs can occur. RS 51 does not really clarify if the home run pitch makes the discovery "after a pitch" or whether calling the unreported sub out nullifies the hit/run.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
4.6.C is arranged in a progressive order
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
As long as the "B1" mentioned in answer a is the substitute B1 and not the original B1. According to 4.6.C.3 Effect 1 it is the substitute who is out. This is different than batting out of order where the player who was scheduled to bat is the one called out.
|
|
|||
What difference does it make?
|
|
|||
Words have meaning and as umpires we're supposed to be using rulebook language. Choice A is almost correct, and given that the test also offers choice D, which one is most correct?
Last edited by Crabby_Bob; Mon Apr 11, 2016 at 11:08am. |
|
|||
The sub has to be out to nullify the hit/run.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
If the rule said that the original fellow was out, the action was nullified and the sub was now in the game, then we would do everything exactly the same as we do now. No? (Except that the scorekeeper would put the star for the note on the out in a very slightly different place)
|
|
|||
I really don't understand how anyone can actually read the rule and not come the correct answer
4.6.C: A substitute who enters the game without reporting is considered an unreported substitute Since in the OP the unreported substitute has complete his/her turn at bat, subparagraph 3 applies: When completing a turn at bat and is discovered a. BEFORE the next pitch, legal or illegal b. BEFORE the defense has left the field c. BEFORE the umpires have left the field According to OP, "c" applies so you go to the EFFECT: 1. The unreported substitute is officially in the game and ruled out. (B1 is out, nullifies the run) 2. All other outs that occur on this play stand (n/a in the OP) 3. All other runners will return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch (n/a in the OP) BTW, the rule for 2015 reads the same as the rule for 2016
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fed test question: | Ref1973 | Football | 22 | Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:36pm |
Old test question | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 1 | Sat Oct 29, 2011 02:18am |
07-08 Test Question | flaref0812 | Basketball | 14 | Mon Oct 29, 2007 06:53pm |
ASA Test Question | mcrowder | Softball | 7 | Mon Feb 28, 2005 06:42pm |
Question RE: Fed Test | 1231234 | Softball | 3 | Fri Feb 25, 2005 09:13am |