![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I think the play has some discussion merit, but you're asking the wrong question. At no time is this an appeal play; the BR did not miss the base, the BR did not proceed to first base. That isn't an appeal play, it's a call that must be made by PU when it occurs.
And you really don't give us all the info necessary to determine if it matters. You don't tell us how many outs, or if there were other runners. Here are some issues to consider: 1) With less than two outs, the run scores; this can only matter if the BR failing to advance is the third out. 2) If bases were loaded, NCAA (and NFHS, but not ASA) considers all forced advances as awarded bases. So, in that case, the run scores. 3) The "does not proceed" rule (12.2.4) says she is out and the ball remains live when she leaves the field of play. That didn't happen; but the rest of the offense made it a dead ball when they came out of the dugout to begin their celebration. The rules appear to support (I say appear because the exact scenario is not covered, and that allows DA interpretation) PU calling the BR out, and the run not scoring (no run can score when the third out is a result of BR fails to reach first safely). There is no approved ruling on a case play that would have this run scored with two outs and a single runner on third. Ironic that the run absolutely scores if anything but ball 4 or d3k, making the batter a BR. Now, do I make that call? Honestly, if the defense walks off, so will I, just as if they missed an opportunity to make an appeal. But they appear aware, I would be, too.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Steve, I neglected to mention there were 2 outs at the time. Runner on 3rd (only). The 3-2 pitch was a wild pitch w/ runner from 3rd scoring. BR did not proceed to first base. My first question was if the BR should have touched first base.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Sun Mar 22, 2015 at 08:19pm. Reason: clarification |
|
|||
And he answered that.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
APG, thanx for posting the video. Can't be any clearer than that!
Steve, you stated: The rules appear to support (I say appear because the exact scenario is not covered, and that allows DA interpretation) PU calling the BR out, and the run not scoring (no run can score when the third out is a result of BR fails to reach first safely). There is no approved ruling on a case play that would have this run scored with two outs and a single runner on third. What is "DA interpretation"? Thanx,
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ole Miss vs Xavier (Video 2/2) | Rich | Basketball | 6 | Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:14am |
Video request Florida/Ole Miss | OKREF | Basketball | 0 | Sat Feb 22, 2014 01:51pm |
LaSalle/Ole Miss (Video Added) | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 45 | Tue Mar 26, 2013 07:38am |
Video Request UGA/Ole Miss | Raymond | Basketball | 4 | Sun Feb 17, 2013 08:35pm |
Kentucky/Ole Miss Video Request | MOofficial | Basketball | 25 | Fri Feb 01, 2013 08:50am |