The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Sep 06, 2003, 10:28am
Official Forum Member

I have been umpiring fastpitch softball for about 15 years now and have been considering doing some baseball as well.I have progressed through the ranks and now do mainly higher level ball in three codes.(NFHS,NCAA,ASA)I passed my NFHS baseball test last year,but have umpired strictly softball games.My question to this forum is do many of you guys/gals umpire both softball and baseball.Other than the rule differences,is there any complications switching back and forth? My main concern is being able to call a consistant strike zone when doing both.I developed a very good,consistant zone in fastpitch softball and dont want to disrupt that groove,if you will.Any thoughts either way will be greatly appreciated.I am considering doing about 75% Softball and 25% Baseball at this point.I absolutely love the game of Softball,but have always had that itch for baseball since my high school playing days.Thanks.

Jeff
Old Sat Sep 06, 2003, 11:16am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by mo99