The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 24, 2014, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Irish,
so you're saying it was right to call R2 out? I'm lost.
No. He's not. To be clear there are two plays going on here (mostly my fault, so let me try and clarify.) As I understand it here's where the discussion stands.

In your play the obstructed runner was put out. Nothing can ever happen after that and placement of the runners is the only question. The rules seem to require you to put the obstructed runner in the correct spot (2b) and then move the other runner back. Irish doesn't like that as it's inconsistent but agrees it is the rule.

In the other play, the obstructed runner is not put out. This leaves R2 standing as a second runner on second base. He can be put out. People's position on this is a little murkier but Irish seems to be saying that R2 wasn't affected by the obstruction so just call R2 out and move on.

Last edited by youngump; Wed Sep 24, 2014 at 09:18pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rundown: 6-3-2-5-1-5-3-6 bainsey Softball 13 Wed Aug 06, 2014 08:22am
Rundown question onetime1 Baseball 10 Thu Jul 12, 2012 12:02pm
Rundown and OBS DaveASA/FED Softball 43 Wed Apr 18, 2007 01:42pm
Rundown Obstruction? tzme415 Softball 14 Sat Jan 14, 2006 05:32pm
1st and 3rd rundown play illiniwek8 Baseball 10 Fri Jun 10, 2005 06:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1