![]() |
|
|
|||
Home Run base running adventures
R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, no out. B3 hits over-the-fence home run. R1 touches home as team comes out to celebrate at home plate. R2 rounds 3B, approaches home but joins the crowd in the 3B side batters box never crossing home. B3 comes around and touches home. R1 realizes that R2 never touched home and pushes R2 to home plate.
Now what? ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Since B3 touched the plate, R2 cannot retouch. If R2 cannot retouch, there can be no call made for assisting the runner.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
I have actually seen that called. Runner on 1 batter hit a bomb and runner held up to make sure it cleared fence. Batter rounded 1st and passed the runner.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Once a succeeding runner crosses the plate, you can not retouch, so there can be no violation for passing. This situation only can lead to an out if it appealed that the runner missed home plate. |
|
|||
How is the situation different? If the runner never touched home plate and was standing short of the plate in the right handed batters box would not b3 have to pass them before touching the plate? The instant b3 passed the runner they would be out so how could a succeeding runner have scored?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Then B2 is assisted by R1 who is no longer a runner because she has scored. |
|
|||
Well, if the PU had made the call on B3 for passing R2 (which, I agree, should have been the case if R2 was still short of home), then likely R2 would realize she's still a runner and would have touched home on her own. You cannot wait until play ends and then make the out rulings in the sequence you propose.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
B3 is out the moment she passes R2 - who, having not PASSED home plate, is still simply a runner between 3rd and home. At the time B3 is called out, R2 is still a live runner and may still touch home (and may be appealled if she never does so).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
And then is out if she is pushed (assisted) home?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Same situation. a) R2 joins the celebration before passing home plate or b) after R2 passes home plate. B3 then touches home plate. The offense goes back into the dugout and then the defensive coach appeals that R2 did not touch home plate. How many outs do we have and how many runs score? In a) we should have 2 outs. B3 is out for passing R2, and R2 would then be out on appeal for the missed base. 1 run, R1 scores on the play. In b) we have 1 out (R2 for the missed base) and 2 runs score (R1 and B3). Am I correct in this ruling? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Adventures in rec league | trojans2545 | Softball | 1 | Mon Mar 23, 2009 01:57pm |
Base Running Question | Justme | Baseball | 29 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 04:45pm |
Base Running | dustman | Softball | 2 | Sat May 28, 2005 02:25pm |
base running | bkolde | Baseball | 3 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 03:51pm |
smart base running or an out ? | hey blue | Softball | 6 | Sat Aug 24, 2002 03:04pm |