The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 01, 2014, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsig View Post
What about B3 passing a runner?
I have actually seen that called. Runner on 1 batter hit a bomb and runner held up to make sure it cleared fence. Batter rounded 1st and passed the runner.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 01, 2014, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
I have actually seen that called. Runner on 1 batter hit a bomb and runner held up to make sure it cleared fence. Batter rounded 1st and passed the runner.
That is a different situation. In that case, the call for passing a runner should be made.

Once a succeeding runner crosses the plate, you can not retouch, so there can be no violation for passing. This situation only can lead to an out if it appealed that the runner missed home plate.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 01, 2014, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
How is the situation different? If the runner never touched home plate and was standing short of the plate in the right handed batters box would not b3 have to pass them before touching the plate? The instant b3 passed the runner they would be out so how could a succeeding runner have scored?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 04, 2014, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
How is the situation different? If the runner never touched home plate and was standing short of the plate in the right handed batters box would not b3 have to pass them before touching the plate? The instant b3 passed the runner they would be out so how could a succeeding runner have scored?
I guess it depends on how you read the situation. When I first read it, joining the crowd to me meant that she had passed the plate, which by rule, means she has "scored" absent the appeal for missing the base.

The way I think you are thinking of it, the runner has not yet passed the plate when she joins the crowd. As such, she is still a runner and could be passed, resulting in an out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adventures in rec league trojans2545 Softball 1 Mon Mar 23, 2009 01:57pm
Base Running Question Justme Baseball 29 Thu Apr 06, 2006 04:45pm
Base Running dustman Softball 2 Sat May 28, 2005 02:25pm
base running bkolde Baseball 3 Fri Jun 04, 2004 03:51pm
smart base running or an out ? hey blue Softball 6 Sat Aug 24, 2002 03:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1