The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 03, 2014, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I've made this point before to a chilly reception. But here's how I see it: If the pitcher was ready to pitch then this is a leaving early situation and that rule states that the player must maintain contact with the base. Get the out.

If the pitcher was not ready to pitch then this is a lookback rule situation. The player did not "leave" the base if her foot was straight above it, she just didn't maintain contact with it. Do not call her out.
But that wasn't the sitch in Post#13. You had a runner who while trying to gain an advantage by seeing F2's signal to F1, lost contact with the base while the ball was in the possession F1 in the circle.
Wether the pitcher was ready to pitch or not ready to pitch has no bearing.
The runner wasn't 'cleaning dirt from her cleats' here......this is an out.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Back court ruling/thoughts/answer Clark Kent Basketball 36 Fri Apr 13, 2012 08:32pm
Rule/Case question Juulie Downs Basketball 3 Mon Jan 12, 2009 07:06pm
Case book back me up? referee99 Basketball 4 Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:57pm
ASA Look Back case play Dakota Softball 7 Wed Jun 18, 2003 09:42pm
Rule 6-7-9 Your thoughts Jim Dixon Basketball 2 Mon Oct 23, 2000 10:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1