The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2014, 11:58am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Alright, first off, you said this was an NCAA game, and all of the subsequent discussion dealt with an ASA rule. The NCAA rule that pertains here when a BR is declared out for interference is:

Quote:
12.2.13 When she interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, interferes with a fielder attempting to throw the ball, intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while out of the batter’s box, makes contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first base or interferes with a dropped third strike.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. Each base runner must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference. If the interference, in the umpire’s judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the runner being played on also shall be called out.
Note: A batter-runner being hit with a thrown ball does not necessarily constitute interference.
Note the reference to intent in the rule when it comes to thrown balls. As Tom mentioned, you would need to see something pretty blatant that indicates intent by the BR to contact the thrown ball.

NFHS also has the word "intentionally" in its rule on BR interference. For some reason, ASA does not. I don't know if it was intentional for the word "intentionally" to be missing from the ASA rule.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2014, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
...I don't know if it was intentional for the word "intentionally" to be missing from the ASA rule.
Yes, it was intentional. ASA made a decision several years ago to remove "intent" from the interference rules. In my view, however, the net effect is simply to not require umpires to read minds. ASA still requires an "act" of interference. ASA just does not require the umpire to know that the intent of the act was to interfere.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BR Hinders Throw Home Manny A Softball 6 Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:31am
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Positioning on throw home prosec34 Baseball 17 Tue Jul 03, 2007 01:59am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
"C" mechanics on a throw home from OF WestMichBlue Softball 6 Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1