The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 27, 2014, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck chopper View Post
Friday night NCAA game...Why would ASA 8-2-f-3 not apply here ?
Because it is an NCAA game?

More serious answer... you make note of her position wrt the running lane... the running lane is irrelevant in the situation you describe. It only pertains to interference with the fielder taking the throw at first base. It does not apply to any other action by the defense.

For the BR in the situation you described to be guilty of interference, she would have had to commit an act of interference. Merely running to 1B is not such an act. If she had done something to indicate interference (e.g. sticking out her hand to block the ball, deviating her path to get hit by the ball, etc.), then an interference ruling would have been appropriate.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BR Hinders Throw Home Manny A Softball 6 Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:31am
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Positioning on throw home prosec34 Baseball 17 Tue Jul 03, 2007 01:59am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
"C" mechanics on a throw home from OF WestMichBlue Softball 6 Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1