![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
This happened:
R1 on 2nd. Ground ball headed for left field, R1 heads for 3rd, BU cuts behind her toward infield. F6 makes an amazing play on ball, jumps up and chases R1 back toward 2nd. BU still cutting in and after 1 or 2 steps, R1 runs into BU. F6 tags R1 at collision point, 10 – 15 feet from 2nd. BU calls dead ball, confers with PU. They decide it was an umpire mistake, misjudging the play and R1’s speed; causing jeopardy for R1, who might have made it back to 2nd. DC disagrees, but BU rules “part of field” applies to ball, not players. Based on jeopardy from umpire mistake, BU places R1 on 2nd, BR on 1st. Maybe lots of questions here, including whether jeopardy requires a changed ruling. What are your opinions?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Rule book is pretty explicit, only 2 times there can be umpire interference, one with the plate umpire making contact with the catcher while they are attempting to throw and the other when an umpire is hit by a batted ball prior to it passing an infielder. Neither happened in this situation. Dumb mistake by the umpire, runner is out. Take your butt chewing from the offensive coach and learn a lesson to stay out of the play.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
|
The rule book says that umpires can fix a situation where a team is put in jeopardy due to a delayed or reversed call, not due to "an umpire mistake". What call was delayed or reversed on this play?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Not even a good rec ball solution trying to make everyone happy, let alone one supported by any rule.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=CecilOne;936486]This happened:
R1 on 2nd. Ground ball headed for left field, R1 heads for 3rd, BU cuts behind her toward infield. F6 makes an amazing play on ball, jumps up and chases R1 back toward 2nd. BU still cutting in and after 1 or 2 steps, R1 runs into BU. F6 tags R1 at collision point, 10 – 15 feet from 2nd. BU calls dead ball, confers with PU. They decide it was an umpire mistake, misjudging the play and R1’s speed; causing jeopardy for R1, who might have made it back to 2nd. DC disagrees, but BU rules “part of field” applies to ball, not players. Based on jeopardy from umpire mistake, BU places R1 on 2nd, BR on 1st. Maybe lots of questions here, including whether jeopardy requires a changed ruling. What are your opinions?[/QUOTE No Rule Support for poor Officiating !! You must live with this one forever. |
|
|||
|
Thanks to all, that's what I thought afterward; trying too hard to be fair I guess.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Just to add from an umpiring lessons learned perspective, be careful anticipating something too early. Busting in before the ball is clearly into the outfield can bite you in the butt as was clearly demonstrated here. I did something similar in an 18 Gold qualifier (two man crew) a couple of years ago when I thought a sharp ground ball past F1 was going to go into right-centerfield, I came in to button hook at first, and almost got clocked by F4's throw after she made a fine backhanded stop.
Timing, timing, timing not only applies to calls, but to positioning as well.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Another Momentum Rule questions | PocketSidewalk | Football | 11 | Thu Sep 30, 2010 02:31pm |
| Rule questions | Ch1town | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jun 10, 2008 07:58pm |
| Rule Questions | secondregionbug | Football | 15 | Wed Aug 29, 2007 03:25pm |
| 2 questions and rule | sm_bbcoach | Basketball | 9 | Sun Jan 11, 2004 07:21pm |
| Rule questions | Ron Pilo | Softball | 2 | Sat Sep 02, 2000 10:31am |