The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2014, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
OK, this back and forth with 2 different scenarios is making following this tedious. Here is what fdt92 is trying to say (I think) in the modified scenario (no pitch thrown to B4).

B1, B3, B2, B4 and the defense appeals BOO when B4 steps into the box and no pitch has been thrown. B1,3, and 2 are on base.

B3 batted improperly for B2, but the defense did not appeal. Once a pitch was thrown to B2, B3's at-bat becomes legal and the batting order resumes from there.

This makes B4 the proper batter, with B2 batting improperly for B4. B2 gets on base.

The defense appeals B2 out of order before a pitch is thrown to B4. B4 (as the proper batter that B2 batted for) is declared out for failure to bat in turn, and B2's at-bat is negated, with B2 being removed from the bases and B1 and B3 returned to their bases at the time of the last pitch to B2.

B5 is now the batter due up.

That's what fdt92 is saying.

OK, explain how this is wrong. I don't think it is.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2014, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
OK, this back and forth with 2 different scenarios is making following this tedious. Here is what fdt92 is trying to say (I think) in the modified scenario (no pitch thrown to B4).

B1, B3, B2, B4 and the defense appeals BOO when B4 steps into the box and no pitch has been thrown. B1,3, and 2 are on base.

B3 batted improperly for B2, but the defense did not appeal. Once a pitch was thrown to B2, B3's at-bat becomes legal and the batting order resumes from there.

This makes B4 the proper batter, with B2 batting improperly for B4. B2 gets on base.

The defense appeals B2 out of order before a pitch is thrown to B4. B4 (as the proper batter that B2 batted for) is declared out for failure to bat in turn, and B2's at-bat is negated, with B2 being removed from the bases and B1 and B3 returned to their bases at the time of the last pitch to B2.

B5 is now the batter due up.

That's what fdt92 is saying.

OK, explain how this is wrong. I don't think it is.

Correct batting order: B1, B2, B3, B4
Batting order for this scenario: B1, B3, B2, B4.


At the start of the batting order: B1 batted and reached base and a pitch was made to B3, B3 is now the proper batter without regard to B2 not batting. If B3 gets on base, B4 would be the proper batter. If B2 stepped into the box, and the defense appeals that B2 is the incorrect batter before a pitch is made, B2 goes back to the dugout and B4 comes to the box, no out assessed.


In your scenario, if a pitch is made to B2, B2 is now the proper batter. B2 gets on base. The proper batter after B2 reached base is now B4 as B3 is already on base and that spot in the batting order is skipped over without penalty.

Last edited by nopachunts; Tue May 20, 2014 at 02:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2014, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts View Post
Correct batting order: B1, B2, B3, B4
Batting order for this scenario: B1, B3, B2, B4.

At the start of the batting order: B1 batted and reached base and a pitch was made to B3, B3 is now the proper batter without regard to B2 not batting.
No. B2 is the proper batter while improper batter B3 is at bat. Proper batter B2 could replace improper B3 at any time prior to improper B3 completing her improper turn at bat. But that didn't happen here instead improper B3 got on base.

If B3 gets on base, B4 would be the proper batter.
Not until a pitch is thrown to a batter following improper B3s time at bat. This is the defense's chance to appeal BOO: from the time improper B3 gets on base till the next pitch is thrown.

If B2 stepped into the box, and the defense appeals that B2 is the incorrect batter before a pitch is made, B2 goes back to the dugout and B4 comes to the box, no out assessed.
Improper B3 has just reached base, and B2 comes to bat. Defense appeals BOO before a pitch to B2. The appeal is honored. The batter called out is the batter who was supposed to bat when improper B3 batted, in this case it was B2. B3s improper turn is negated, other runners who advanced are returned. Since B2 was called out for missing her turn the next batter in order is B3

In your scenario, if a pitch is made to B2, B2 is now the proper batter. Not yet. B2 came to bat after improper B3 got on base. Throwing a pitch to B2 after B3 gets on makes improper B3s turn legal and the correct batter would be B4 as she follow B3. But B2 continues to bat..

B2 gets on base. The proper batter after B2 reached base is now B4 as B3 is already on base and that spot in the batting order is skipped over without penalty.

B4 was proper batter during B2s improper turn. If defense appeals before a pitch is made following B2 getting on base then B2s turn is negated and B4 is called out. Since B5 follows B4, B5 is now proper batter.

But if a pitch is thrown after improper B2 gets on and B3 is currently on base then yes skip over B3 and B4 is proper batter.
Dakota had is right.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2014, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
OK, this back and forth with 2 different scenarios is making following this tedious. Here is what fdt92 is trying to say (I think) in the modified scenario (no pitch thrown to B4).

B1, B3, B2, B4 and the defense appeals BOO when B4 steps into the box and no pitch has been thrown. B1,3, and 2 are on base.

B3 batted improperly for B2, but the defense did not appeal. Once a pitch was thrown to B2, B3's at-bat becomes legal and the batting order resumes from there.

This makes B4 the proper batter, with B2 batting improperly for B4. B2 gets on base.

The defense appeals B2 out of order before a pitch is thrown to B4. B4 (as the proper batter that B2 batted for) is declared out for failure to bat in turn, and B2's at-bat is negated, with B2 being removed from the bases and B1 and B3 returned to their bases at the time of the last pitch to B2.

B5 is now the batter due up.

That's what fdt92 is trying to say.

OK, explain how this is wrong. I don't think it is.
Fixed that presumption for you. fdt92 CLEARLY stated "B4 takes a pitch before the defense notices."

That's the end of it right there. There is no "what if" available that is going to change anything involving the previous 3 batters no matter how hard someone is trying.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batting Out Of Order or NOT Mass Ump Softball 15 Thu Jul 21, 2011 05:07pm
Batting Out of Order? Paul L Softball 3 Tue Mar 13, 2007 08:29am
batting out of order? fan Softball 22 Wed May 31, 2006 03:15pm
ASA - Batting out of Order David Emerling Softball 31 Fri May 05, 2006 04:30pm
batting out of order scyguy Baseball 10 Sun May 08, 2005 08:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1