![]() |
|
|
|||
Run scores?
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, R4 on 1st. 1 out. Fly ball hit to F9 caught for 2nd out, they throw back to first to get R4 who never tagged and was going back to base but didn't make it in time. R1 crossed the plate before the legal appeal of R4. Run scores, right?
I have a handful of umpires who are saying it's a force out and no runs can score on a force out. I say it's not a force out, it's an appeal play and a timing play.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. Last edited by LIUmp; Fri Mar 28, 2014 at 07:02pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Rita |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
2011 NYSSO TEST
84. R3 is on 3rd base and R1 is on 1st base with one out when B1 hits a fly ball to right field. When F9 catches the fly ball, R3 legally tags up and scores before R1 is retired returning to 1st base: a. No runs wills score on that double play and the inning is over b. The out on R1 at 1st base is a force out c. The play stands and the inning is over but the run by R3 counts d. R3’s run is nullified because of the force out on R1 at 1st base
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
Where does anyone get the idea that it is a force out?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
The thought process of 1) not reading any definitions beacuse they already "know" the game, and 2) if you don't have to tag the runner, just the base, it must be a "force".
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
LI, with all those credentials in your signature block, including NCAA, did you really have any doubts? Your question is the classic example used in virtually every clinic, and written in every set of case books and approved rulings on what constitutes a timing play.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
Knowing LI and having had the opportunity to work some games with him over the past few years in different venues and under different codes.....I have no doubt that he knows the rule. I think perhaps(?) what he was trying to accomplish in writing the post the way he did was to be able to show the "handful of umpires" in his local association who are being stubborn and obstinate with him about this sitch being a force play our replies to his question as a way to illustrate to these dunderheads just how wrong they all are about a very basic rule. Last edited by KJUmp; Mon Mar 31, 2014 at 11:03am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Why not?? Can't continue to polish the turd(s).
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Insults / name-calling are not the only alternative, you know. He does (presumably) still have to work with them.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
RS #1.J: "When the batter-runner is put out prior to reaching first base, all force outs are eliminated." RS #1.K: "Tag-Ups. When a runner leaves a base too soon on a caught fly ball and returns in an attempt to retouch, this is considered a time play and not a force out. When the appeal is the third out, all runs scored in advance of the appealed runner and prior to the legal appeal count. RS #21: "It is not possible to have a force out on a caught fly ball as the batter-runner is no longer a runner." RS #43: "An appeal play on a runner leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball is a time play, not a force. When the appeal results in the third out of an inning, any run scored prior the appeal counts." NCAA 7.1.5.3: "If the appeal is the third out, and is successfully made on a base runner not forced to advance at the time of the infraction, all runs scored by base runners before the legal appeal was made, would count. Note: If a base runner leaves a base before a fly ball is first touched and returns in an attempt to retag, this is considered a timing play and not a force out." NCAA 12.28.6: "If a base runner leaves a base too soon on a caught fly ball and returns in an attempt to retag, this is considered a timing play and not a force out. If the appeal is the third out, all runs scored by base runners in advance of the appealed base runner and scored ahead of the legal appeal would count." I would add NFHS rulings, but since they apparently don't apply in NY, I wont bother. If that "handful of umpires" won't believe LI after he shows them what's in the ASA and NCAA books, they sure as hell won't listen to us.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Run scores? | MD Longhorn | Softball | 10 | Wed Oct 23, 2013 05:55pm |
Box Scores | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 7 | Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:52am |
Who scores?? | Huskerblue | Baseball | 25 | Fri May 11, 2007 09:04am |
Run Scores? | nelson_28602 | Baseball | 5 | Fri Mar 02, 2007 06:52pm |
3rd out run scores | lizglea | Baseball | 2 | Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:53am |