![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, if the batter steps out of the box or holds up her hand to request time and the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Pretty simple pitch is legal^^^ any ball released in this situation is a strike no matter what. With that said if a ball does hit the batter call it a dead ball strike
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Again the rule reads: the pitcher legally delivers the ball, Well what if the pitcher tosses it in overhand? Still a strike? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But seriously?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
howz about a pitch into the dirt. D3K? it's a strike by rule!
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I would agree that logic would dictate that the sentence highlighted in red would be the most obvious way to handle this, and that the Fed could save some paper simplifying the rule. But...logic is not what the Fed is best known for. So to stretch it out one more time how about the last words of 7-3-1 Penalty, Effects 2..."it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live". Hit by pitch; live ball? Just saying...
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Hmmm, interesting. I've always believed that if the batter steps out and then the pitcher commits an illegal pitch, the two violations cancel each other out and a No Pitch is declared. I can't see awarding the pitcher with a Strike when she does a leap or crow hop or other clear violation that may or may not have been affected by the batter's action.
IOW, if her pitch is legal by definition, then the strike is called no matter where the pitch ends up, and the ball remains live (unless something else requires us to kill it, such as if the pitch hits the batter, it goes into DBT, etc.) Conversely, if her pitch is not legal by definition, it's a No Pitch. And, OBTW, if the called strike is an uncaught third strike, I see no reason why we can't allow the batter to attempt to reach first base if the situation warrants. Where in the rule does it say the batter cannot advance?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This is simple, guys - you're making it harder than it is. Don't lawyerize this one.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"the pitcher legally delivers the ball". in 7-3-1 Penalty, Effects 2; any delivery by the pitcher after or while the batter is doing the above is by definition legal. Do you agree?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? | fiasco | Basketball | 46 | Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am |
| American Legion "Time Called" | first2third | Baseball | 18 | Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:38pm |
| Partner called me a "geezer" | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 21 | Sun Mar 07, 2010 06:22pm |
| Third Strike "Legally Caught" | JPaco54 | Baseball | 12 | Thu May 21, 2009 08:27pm |
| Repeated "Dropped Second Strike" Activity by Coach? | IamMatt | Softball | 9 | Sun May 11, 2008 07:09pm |