The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2003, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Wait a minute, Mike. "Once you call the BR out, by rule, the ball is dead and the play has ended. Any subsequent action is nullified"

Runners on 1B and 3B, less than 2 outs, CO on F2, batter swings and misses 3rd strike, F2 misses ball.

Batter is out immediately (1B occupied), but ball is rolling to the backstop and R3 is coming home. Are you going to call Dead Ball and sent R3 back? Seems as though the ball should remain alive until all play has ended.

I think that would be unfair to the offense. Not allowing the run to score would reward the defensive violation. If the run scores, the offense should have the option to either take the play (run scores and batter is out), or the penalty (return R3 and award 1B to B-R).

Are you sure that ASA requires you to stop all play the instant the obstructed player is put out? What if we have R2 on 2B and Batter hits single. BR obstructed by F3 as she tries for 2B. R9 throws out BR at 2B. R2 had rounded 3B and when she saw throw going to 2B she went home.

But R2 is only halfway home when BR is called out and DEAD BALL is called! Now what? You stopped play before all action had ceased. What do we do with R2?

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1