The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 01, 2003, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Very good question, a fun one even with a FED rule book. 8.1.1.d Effect, is the rule. As mentioned above, it gives no specifics as to when the delayed dead ball situation ends. But the case book seems to have the answers.

8.1.1 SITUATION G: R1 on third. R1 starts home as in a squeeze play. F3, who is playing close for a bunt, cuts off the pitch and tags R1. RULING: This is treated the same as catcher obstruction. The ball becomes dead at the end of playing action... [Emphasis added.]

If the ball stays alive until the end of the playing action, that would allow the runners to advance on the passed ball mentioned in the initial play of this thread.

The rule also states that the delayed dead ball does not become dead as soon as an out is made. See rule 8.1.1.d and case book 8.1.1 SITUATION I. If the ball was dead the instant an out was made, how could a runner score on a sac fly?
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1