The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 22, 2013, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You can "call it" whatever you want to... but calling this spectator interference is no more accurate than calling it an infield fly.
I must have sun stroke from working in the heat all weekend, because that line actually made me laugh out loud.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 22, 2013, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I feel you, YoungUmp; you were searching for a rule reference that related to a nonparticipant or situation (I really didn't read the OP to be suggesting someone threw the ball on the field, I took it more to be a foul ball off an adjacent field) that possibly affected the play on your field.

But, you used a specified and intentionally limited rule to try to cover this; just like we cannot declare umpire interference when an umpire DOES interfere, but not in the defined way, we cannot use spectator interference in the undefined way.

There are two options. 1) Unless you absolutely/positively have someone in imminent danger of serious injury, DON'T be the leming that yells "Time" whenever a ball approaches your field during live play. Sure, if you can stop it before live play, not a bad plan; but once the ball is in live play, 10-4.E says SHALL NOT CALL TIME while any play is in progress. 2) If you DO kill play on your field, the PU has to apply 10-4.G (the ONLY rule that can apply when violating 10-4.E) and make a best judgment ruling awarding bases; and do-over and even apparent outs aren't legal options. Anything else is a lost protest. Since that never leaves people happy, try not to get there.

No, you cannot apply 10.1, either; it is covered in 10.4 that you shall not call time.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 22, 2013, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
I must have sun stroke from working in the heat all weekend, because that line actually made me laugh out loud.
Happy to be of service, sir.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 22, 2013, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
I must have sun stroke from working in the heat all weekend, because that line actually made me laugh out loud.
Don't think it's sunstroke because we were calling in cloudy weather this weekend and it made me laugh too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1