The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   What do you do? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95590-what-do-you-do.html)

Skahtboi Sun Jul 21, 2013 06:36pm

What do you do?
 
Routine batted ball to F4 who has an easy play for the out at first. Just as F4 fields the ball, a ball from another field lands in the infield. F4 goes ahead and makes the play for the out.

Do you a)allow the out, as it was routine, b)call dead ball, award batter first, c)call dead ball and send the batter back to bat, or d)say it is not my problem but the other umpire's to sort out?

CecilOne Sun Jul 21, 2013 06:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 900513)
Routine batted ball to F4 who has an easy play for the out at first. Just as F4 fields the ball, a ball from another field lands in the infield. F4 goes ahead and makes the play for the out.

Do you a)allow the out, as it was routine, b)call dead ball, award batter first, c)call dead ball and send the batter back to bat, or d)say it is not my problem but the other umpire's to sort out?

I would not kill a play that had started with no effect on either the fielder or BR. I guess that is "a".
If the ball struck one of them, probably have to call a dead. "b" or "c" depending on who is affected.

"d" ONLY IF partner calls it first. ;) :D

xtremeump Sun Jul 21, 2013 06:52pm

I worked at a Complex this weekend that has fields back to back and I make sure to mention at the PLATE meeting to keep playing. I also mention that we will use common sense, with your play I would have an out.

youngump Sun Jul 21, 2013 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 900513)
Routine batted ball to F4 who has an easy play for the out at first. Just as F4 fields the ball, a ball from another field lands in the infield. F4 goes ahead and makes the play for the out.

Do you a)allow the out, as it was routine, b)call dead ball, award batter first, c)call dead ball and send the batter back to bat, or d)say it is not my problem but the other umpire's to sort out?

The rule is not super clear in the copy of the rulebook I have digitally. Hopefully it's been edited since then. But it's 8-5-L and the effect is simply a dead ball. I think the effect from M was meant to be attached. When you have spectator interference, you rule as to what would have happened and do that. The rules supplement seems to suggest the same. In this case, I don't think it applies because to interfere you have to interfere with a play.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 21, 2013 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 900513)
Routine batted ball to F4 who has an easy play for the out at first. Just as F4 fields the ball, a ball from another field lands in the infield. F4 goes ahead and makes the play for the out.

Do you a)allow the out, as it was routine, b)call dead ball, award batter first, c)call dead ball and send the batter back to bat, or d)say it is not my problem but the other umpire's to sort out?

e) umpire the game in front of me

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 21, 2013 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 900516)
The rule is not super clear in the copy of the rulebook I have digitally. Hopefully it's been edited since then. But it's 8-5-L and the effect is simply a dead ball. I think the effect from M was meant to be attached. When you have spectator interference, you rule as to what would have happened and do that. The rules supplement seems to suggest the same. In this case, I don't think it applies because to interfere you have to interfere with a play.

Nope. Rule doesn't apply

youngump Sun Jul 21, 2013 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 900518)
Nope. Rule doesn't apply

Why? Isn't throwing a ball into the middle of the field interference if it impedes a fielder executing a play?

Skahtboi Sun Jul 21, 2013 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 900517)
e) umpire the game in front of me

Yeah, I should have included e), but I believe that would lead us back to a), or doe, or whatever it leads us back to. :D

Skahtboi Sun Jul 21, 2013 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 900519)
Why? Isn't throwing a ball into the middle of the field interference if it impedes a fielder executing a play?

Who was impeded in this situation?

youngump Sun Jul 21, 2013 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 900521)
Who was impeded in this situation?

Nobody, which is why I don't advocate killing it in this situation. I was understand Mike to be saying that whatever you do in any ball on field situation isn't based on your interpretation of the spectator interference rule and if not I'm not sure what rule you do use to fix it.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 21, 2013 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 900522)
Nobody, which is why I don't advocate killing it in this situation. I was understand Mike to be saying that whatever you do in any ball on field situation isn't based on your interpretation of the spectator interference rule and if not I'm not sure what rule you do use to fix it.

To start, spectator interference is when a spectator enters the field of play and interferes. No spectator interfered with the play.

Second, there is nothing to fix, you start the play, you finish the play.

CecilOne Mon Jul 22, 2013 06:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 900523)
To start, spectator interference is when a spectator enters the field of play and interferes. No spectator interfered with the play.

Second, there is nothing to fix, you start the play, you finish the play.

Is this wrong, if it affected the fielder or the runner?
"If the ball struck one of them, probably have to call a dead. "b" or "c" depending on who is affected. "

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 22, 2013 08:53am

Perhaps a play where someone was actually affected would make this clearer to some.

Grounder to F4, who fields the ball cleanly. As she is beginning to throw to 1st base, she is struck by a ball that came from another field, and she throws errantly, causing the batter runner to be safe.

A) Umpire the game in front of you - runner is safe.
B) Dead ball, reset (do-over)
C) Dead ball, place runners where you think they would have gotten to, no outs.
D) Dead ball, place runners and grant outs where you think they would have gotten to or happened.

My ruling - A. Soon to be ejected DC's ruling is likely B or D.

xtremeump Mon Jul 22, 2013 09:44am

If a batted ball comes from another field and in your judgement the ball affected the play on your field "we do nothing" ? I agree Umpire your game, however commonsense and advantage/disadvantage has to be used in this OP.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtremeump (Post 900547)
If a batted ball comes from another field and in your judgement the ball affected the play on your field "we do nothing" ? I agree Umpire your game, however commonsense and advantage/disadvantage has to be used in this OP.

You would have no rules basis for such a ruling.

Would you treat it the same if F4 was distracted by an errant cup that flew over from another field? A leaf? A bird or bee? Dust? A loud cheer? Why would a ball be different from the rest of these?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1