The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Men's FP

Tie game, bottom 7, bases loaded, 2 out.
Texas leaguer to F9, who just misses the shoestring catch. Game over.

I had the catch-no catch, BR touching 1B, R1 touching home (1-man game).

As all offensive runners converge near pitcher's circle for high 5's, and defense is walking off, F6 comes to me and quietly says, "runners never got to 2nd & 3rd. If I touch the bases, no score, right?"

Now, with what I was looking at (see above), I can't swear they didn't touch before breaking off to celebrate. This was totally my bad, will try to NEVER let it happen again.

The only thing that bailed me out was, F6 (with the still-live ball) proceeded to trot over to 2nd, then 3rd.

Thank god, in that order, he removed the force at 3rd. Game still over, right?

Last edited by jmkupka; Thu Jul 18, 2013 at 08:56am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Tie game, bottom 7, bases loaded, 2 out.
Texas leaguer to F9, who just misses the shoestring catch. Game over.

I had the catch-no catch, BR touching 1B, R1 touching home (1-man game).

As all offensive runners converge near pitcher's circle for high 5's, and defense is walking off, F6 comes to me and quietly says, "runners never got to 2nd & 3rd. If I touch the bases, no score, right?"

Now, with what I was looking at (see above), I can't swear they didn't touch before breaking off to celebrate. This was totally my bad, will try to NEVER let it happen again.

The only thing that bailed me out was, F6 (with the still-live ball) proceeded to trot over to 2nd, then 3rd.

Thank god, in that order, he removed the force at 3rd. Game still over, right?
Proper answer to F6's question: I had to watch the catch/no catch, the batter touch first and the runner touch home. After that, they are already celebrating and I didn't see them not touch. Game over.

Answer to your question: R3 to 2B was still a force out, so, if you rule that an out, no run scores.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Thanks Dakota... not to change my OP after the fact, but that's just how I explained it to F6 as he was trotting over to 2nd (the fact that I could only see what I saw).

Of course you're correct on the force at 2nd. Hypothetical: what if there was only 1 out. Would my premise then be correct?

Last edited by jmkupka; Thu Jul 18, 2013 at 09:34am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
...Hypothetical: what if there was only 1 out. Would my premise then be correct?
Yes.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 11:21am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Yes.
So to be clear, the run would not count only if the defense properly appealed R2's failure to advance to third, followed by R3's failure to advance to second?

What if they did advance to those bases, but missed them? I assume the same ruling holds true.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Bunch of memorable stuff happened there last night...

Finally called one of the few rules that I can cite chapter and verse from the book.
1 out. R1 is trying to get back to 3B on a pop up, interferes with F5's fielding of the routine fly ball. Runner out, batter out. 8.7.L. (exception).

Surprised it doesn't happen more often...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Men's WrecK A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 5 Wed Feb 03, 2010 01:16pm
WCC MEN'S Tournament TRef21 Basketball 6 Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:47pm
New Men's Mechanic? Nevadaref Basketball 25 Tue Nov 27, 2007 02:18am
ncaa (men's) jritchie Basketball 2 Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:27am
Anybody doing Men's FP? WestMichBlue Softball 15 Sun Jan 12, 2003 01:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1