The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Jul 08, 2013, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I think that some posters have posted good advice and correct rulings for long enough that when they post one can feel confident they are giving good advice.

And I think the opposite is true as well. I just hope the newbies and lurkers can tell the difference. The endless supply of completely and utterly incorrect advice from a couple of posters is becoming tiresome.
Fair point.

I'm just not a proponent of the practice of 'sham' conferences with my partner(s) just to appease a coach who disagrees with a call.

And yes, it's especially important that the newbies here when and how to properly go to your partner for help.
Old Mon Jul 08, 2013, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
I just hope the newbies and lurkers can tell the difference.
This room ain't that hard to read.
Old Mon Jul 08, 2013, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member

Actually, NCAA says to go for help first; not blow the call and try to straighten things out later on.
Old Mon Jul 08, 2013, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Proof? Are you one of these people who just keep on throwing shit while screaming "roses" hoping that eventually, everyone will believe it is roses?

Opinions are not evidence of proof, right Puddin'?

I disagree with your opinion based on my 46+ years of experience in multiple games at multiple levels. I have always made the call first, even in 1966 when I was doing baseball & have never had a problem. As I've said before, response of the teams is usually that of appreciation of at least checking. And that was probably quite a bit before ASA decided to take that stance, so this isn't a following the leader thing.