The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 14, 2013, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Runner touches home before 1b appeal

Runner on 3rd, 2 outs. Batter hits ground ball to SS, throw pulls first baseman off of bag, but batter-runner runs over the base without touching it. After runner from third had touched home, first baseman appeals and tags first base before batter runner returns to it. Batter runner is out, does run score?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 14, 2013, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 109
xtremeump

No run, play was properly appealed and BR never becomes a runner.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 14, 2013, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeump View Post
No run, play was properly appealed and BR never becomes a runner.
Agreed,

This would be the same ruling as if she was thrown out on a play at first base prior to reaching the base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 15, 2013, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbuddy View Post
Runner on 3rd, 2 outs. Batter hits ground ball to SS, throw pulls first baseman off of bag, but batter-runner runs over the base without touching it. After runner from third had touched home, first baseman appeals and tags first base before batter runner returns to it. Batter runner is out, does run score?
Which rule set? ASA uses the time of the appeal.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 15, 2013, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Which rule set? ASA uses the time of the appeal.
While that is true, it doesn't change the fact that no run can score when the batter-runner is put out prior to reaching first base. The live ball appeal establishes the batter-runner failing to touch results in that ruling.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 15, 2013, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
While that is true, it doesn't change the fact that no run can score when the batter-runner is put out prior to reaching first base. The live ball appeal establishes the batter-runner failing to touch results in that ruling.
So, why would ASA be worded that way?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 15, 2013, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 109
xtremeump

Cecil is changing the OP, just like everyone on this forum hates.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 16, 2013, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbuddy View Post
So, why would ASA be worded that way?
Which wording are you questioning?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 16, 2013, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeump View Post
Cecil is changing the OP, just like everyone on this forum hates.
How is asking the rule set "changing the OP"?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 17, 2013, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
How is asking the rule set "changing the OP"?
It's not.

But implying the answer to the question might be rule-set dependent is wrong. This is no run in any rule set (and all of the small ball rule-sets as well, if anyone cares).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 17, 2013, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
No Run

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbuddy View Post
Runner on 3rd, 2 outs. Batter hits ground ball to SS, throw pulls first baseman off of bag, but batter-runner runs over the base without touching it. After runner from third had touched home, first baseman appeals and tags first base before batter runner returns to it. Batter runner is out, does run score?
Batter/runner never legally achieved first base!!!

Last edited by DeputyUICHousto; Mon Jun 17, 2013 at 04:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 17, 2013, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post

But implying the answer to the question might be rule-set dependent is wrong. This is no run in any rule set .
Yes, my mistake.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 17, 2013, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto View Post
Batter/runner never achieved first base!!!
[rant] In my opinion, that is the type of answer that adds to confusion. I know of no ruleset that speaks of achieving a base, and, frankly, don't know exactly what that could mean. Have you achieved a base when it is passed, touched, or even awarded without reaching it?

The best answers are those that use the rule book verbiage, and make no effort to add a personal flavor. Either the batter-runner touched first base safely, or was put out prior to first touching the base; that is all that matters in determining if the run scored. Anything else only muddies the water for those looking for reasons to reinterpret a rule. [/rant]
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 17, 2013, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
+1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
appeal at home plate - runner missed touching the plate splitveer Softball 4 Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:15am
Ok...but it was an appeal play and the home ump had no idea... sp279 Softball 2 Sat Apr 07, 2012 07:25pm
Runner touches ball to ground Reffing Rev. Football 7 Mon Oct 18, 2010 05:42am
Appeal of home plate canadaump6 Baseball 5 Fri Aug 08, 2008 03:01pm
Runner touches batted ball on home plate tibear Baseball 13 Sun Jul 29, 2007 01:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1