The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 02, 2013, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
First play, line drive to CF. CF appears to catch the ball (very close), but it is ruled no catch. Throw comes in to 1B (who is touching 1b on the catch). Batter-Runner has reached first base, but then steps off 1b back towards home plate/dugout. No tag is applied and she then takes the step back onto 1b. Umps ruled no catch, and no out at 1b.

My take on this, using ASA's rules (not NCAA since I don't have that book), is that since she had touched 1b, she is now a runner, not a batter-runner. Since no tag was applied, there is no out.

Florida's coach came out arguing that she should have been out (the announcers seemed to think it was because of what happened at 1b, but I think it was the catch-no catch.
So, should the batter-runner have been called out for abandoning first base?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nebraska swkansasref33 General / Off-Topic 0 Thu May 24, 2012 08:45pm
Anyone from Nebraska? surf24 Softball 13 Fri May 28, 2010 12:00pm
KU/Nebraska muxbule Basketball 8 Fri Jan 30, 2009 02:41pm
Nebraska vs. Auburn shave-tail Football 2 Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:44am
Nebraska HS officiating Matt S. Basketball 1 Fri Mar 10, 2006 09:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1