![]() |
Florida-Nebraska
There were a couple of close calls in this game.
First play, line drive to CF. CF appears to catch the ball (very close), but it is ruled no catch. Throw comes in to 1B (who is touching 1b on the catch). Batter-Runner has reached first base, but then steps off 1b back towards home plate/dugout. No tag is applied and she then takes the step back onto 1b. Umps ruled no catch, and no out at 1b. My take on this, using ASA's rules (not NCAA since I don't have that book), is that since she had touched 1b, she is now a runner, not a batter-runner. Since no tag was applied, there is no out. Florida's coach came out arguing that she should have been out (the announcers seemed to think it was because of what happened at 1b, but I think it was the catch-no catch. The next play, latter in the same inning. Flyout to center. CF throws home late to try getting the runner tagging, but it is late. Catcher throws to 2nd, attempting to get the runner tagging from 1b. When this happens, the runner from 3b starts home and is in a rundown. the 3b dives, tags the runner on the upper leg, continues to the ground where the 3b's glove contacts the runners foot and the ball comes out. The runner slides home, thinking she is out, but since the ball came out, she is ruled safe. There was a distinct separate touch between the initial tag and the tag on the foot that caused the ball to come out, but they were all part of the same diving tag attempt. The ball was still held after the first touch, but came out on the second touch when the heel came up and hit the glove. No argument was made over this by Florida, who was pretty much in disbelief they gave up a 4 run lead and the game went into extra innings. |
Quote:
They just showed the replay again, I didn't see, but one attempt to tag and the ball came out immediately. Maybe catch in slow motion later |
WOW! Talk about a lousy position to see a call.
U3 on 3B side of 2B, almost at a 1B-2B line extended trying to get a peek at a touch of 2B. I don't think he saw it, but he didn't have the angle to see the miss by F4. |
Oh my, play @ 1B, F3 clearly trapped the ball. Everyone must be getting tired as no one even complained about that one :)
|
Really interesting. The game stream on ESPN3 live and 8 seconds ahead of the ESPN TV presentation
|
Well, that end really brings up the "about to receive" still in effect in NCAA softball.
|
Quote:
|
She definitely blocked 3rd base and contact happened, before the ball arrived.
|
Obstruction
Even with the about to receive, I think we have obstruction at third on the last play. "The defensive player must be in the process of catching the ball and not merely positioning, waiting for a throw to arrive." Also just reviewed the about to receive part of the clinic on the SUP web site. The ball was NOT between the defensive player and the runner.
Now on the no touching of the bag at second, What would be the right move to get into position for that call? The ball was hit right at the umpires pre-pitch position. So, I think appropriately, he moves to the backside of second. Now out of position to see the foot, especially with the collision of shortstop and second baseman. I guess he could have tried to widen up, but tough with the ball coming at you. Finally, is K zone off, is it just me, or are the zones of all the umpires wider than it should be on the outside corner? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Nebraska ran the bases stupidly several times and played poor defense. The right team won.
"About to receive" looked close enough to me. Why was thunderfoot running toward the ball with two outs? |
Quote:
|
All the talk about another game, bases loaded, a shot down 3B line and U3 directly to the edge of the warning track forcing the PU to possiblye work around the catcher, the advancing runner, F5 at the base, but she stayed in foul territory away from the line to make the correct call from 120+ feet away.
She barely had time to get her mask off, but made the correct call and then looked toward the 1B coaches box as she knew she was going to get a visit from the coach. To me, if you have an umpire on the line, that is a case where that BU always turns and takes the ball. I have no idea why this guy ran away from the play, but I would not prescribe this. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00pm. |