The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2013, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
.
the play on another runner exception says AND the obstructed runner reaches the base protected to safely.
this exception is not completely clear to me, please clarify or give example
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2013, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
this exception is not completely clear to me, please clarify or give example
Runner OBS by SS 1 step after 2nd base on a play where she's clearly not going to 3rd... award is 2nd, protection (right now) is between 2nd and 3rd. Then - as another runner is trying to score, the play goes home - and our runner tries to advance to 3rd. This is the exception, and she no longer enjoys the protection between 2nd and 3rd base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2013, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
this exception is not completely clear to me, please clarify or give example
Example: R1 on 2nd, B2 hits single. R1 is (minimally) obstructed rounding 3rd, throw in is cut, and R1 holds (safely at 3rd, only awarded base). Former B2 (now R2), dances off first to create a 1st and 3rd pickle play, and draws a throw/play, while R1 now leaves 3rd to attempt to score, and is thrown out at home.

If R1 had continued home initially, and was thrown out, you would protect R1 between 3rd and home, even though your judged award is 3rd; so would you return R1 to 3rd. BUT, since R1 did safely return to 3rd, and then the subsequent play on R2 gave R1 a new opportunity to advance, that attempt is no longer protected by the "between the two bases" clause.

If you had judged that R1 WAS entitled to home initially, the subsequent play does NOT change or remove that protection and award (no matter how many people say the runner needed to make the effort on the initial play).
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2013, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Thank you both , I will think longer next time.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kill it or let it play out? argodad Softball 25 Fri Apr 17, 2009 09:49pm
What penalties kill the play BoBo Football 10 Mon Sep 22, 2008 09:29am
Kill Throw-in wfd21 Basketball 21 Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:07pm
Kill the Play or Not? Fedex Football 9 Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:05pm
Catcher hurt......do you kill the play? JRutledge Baseball 63 Sat Jan 21, 2006 06:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1