The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   When Do We Kill Play after Obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95123-when-do-we-kill-play-after-obstruction.html)

Manny A Fri May 24, 2013 10:05am

When Do We Kill Play after Obstruction
 
Hypothetical scenario. Apply all rule sets.

R1 on second. Batter hits a base hit up the middle. F6 moved towards the ball to make the play, but it goes into centerfield. F6 then collides with R1 heading for third, knocking R1 down.

R1 gets up, tries to advance to third, but F8's throw to F5 beats her there by a long shot, so she tries to get back to second. R1 slides safely headfirst just under the tag by F4. F4 then sees that the BR is well off first base, and makes a play on her. The BR gets into a rundown between first and second.

R1 sees the rundown, and tries to make it to third base. The throw there beats her, and she's tagged out.

Does R1 stay out? Or since she likely would have reached third minus the obstruction, is she allowed to stay there? And should the umpires have killed play when she slid into second base safely and award her third at that point?

MD Longhorn Fri May 24, 2013 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 895360)
Hypothetical scenario. Apply all rule sets.

R1 on second. Batter hits a base hit up the middle. F6 moved towards the ball to make the play, but it goes into centerfield. F6 then collides with R1 heading for third, knocking R1 down.

R1 gets up, tries to advance to third, but F8's throw to F5 beats her there by a long shot, so she tries to get back to second. R1 slides safely headfirst just under the tag by F4. F4 then sees that the BR is well off first base, and makes a play on her. The BR gets into a rundown between first and second.

R1 sees the rundown, and tries to make it to third base. The throw there beats her, and she's tagged out.

Does R1 stay out? Or since she likely would have reached third minus the obstruction, is she allowed to stay there? And should the umpires have killed play when she slid into second base safely and award her third at that point?

You kill the play when A) it's over and you need to announce an award, or B) the obstructed runner is put out before reaching her awarded base. In this case, no, R1 does not stay out, and no, umpires should not have killed play when she slid into 2nd base safely.

Once R1 is put out, you announce the award - R1 to 3rd, BR to first.

CecilOne Fri May 24, 2013 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 895360)
The throw there beats her, and she's tagged out.

That's when we would kill the play?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 895360)
And should the umpires have killed play when she slid into second base safely and award her third at that point?

no

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 895360)
Does R1 stay out? Or since she likely would have reached third minus the obstruction, is she allowed to stay there?

IF R1 would have reached 3rd w/o the OBS, and would have been awarded 3rd by the umpire after the play; then she stays safe there.
Can't be out between 2nd and 3rd unless an exception applies; which it does not seem to as the play on another runner exception says AND the obstructed runner reaches the base protected to safely.

CecilOne Fri May 24, 2013 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 895364)
.
the play on another runner exception says AND the obstructed runner reaches the base protected to safely.

this exception is not completely clear to me, please clarify or give example

MD Longhorn Fri May 24, 2013 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 895367)
this exception is not completely clear to me, please clarify or give example

Runner OBS by SS 1 step after 2nd base on a play where she's clearly not going to 3rd... award is 2nd, protection (right now) is between 2nd and 3rd. Then - as another runner is trying to score, the play goes home - and our runner tries to advance to 3rd. This is the exception, and she no longer enjoys the protection between 2nd and 3rd base.

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 24, 2013 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 895367)
this exception is not completely clear to me, please clarify or give example

Example: R1 on 2nd, B2 hits single. R1 is (minimally) obstructed rounding 3rd, throw in is cut, and R1 holds (safely at 3rd, only awarded base). Former B2 (now R2), dances off first to create a 1st and 3rd pickle play, and draws a throw/play, while R1 now leaves 3rd to attempt to score, and is thrown out at home.

If R1 had continued home initially, and was thrown out, you would protect R1 between 3rd and home, even though your judged award is 3rd; so would you return R1 to 3rd. BUT, since R1 did safely return to 3rd, and then the subsequent play on R2 gave R1 a new opportunity to advance, that attempt is no longer protected by the "between the two bases" clause.

If you had judged that R1 WAS entitled to home initially, the subsequent play does NOT change or remove that protection and award (no matter how many people say the runner needed to make the effort on the initial play).

CecilOne Fri May 24, 2013 01:27pm

Thank you both :cool:, I will think longer next time. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1