The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Referee Magazine Case Plays

I just subscribed to Referee and noticed two problems with the CASEPLAYS section on page 28 of the June, 2013 issue. (I only umpire softball games played under NFHS rules.)

SITUATION # 1: Fast pitch. B1, the pitcher, hits a double in the second inning. B1 is replaced by courtesy runner S1. After a pitch to B2, team B points out that courtesy runner S1 is the same player who ran as the courtesy runner for the catcher.

RULING # 1: In ASA, NFHS, and USSSA, the same courtesy runner may not run for both the pitcher and the catcher at any time during the game. S1 is an illegal substitute and is disqualified, but can be replaced by a legal substitute, the pitcher, or a legal courtesy runner. Teams are not allowed to use courtesy runners in NCAA (ASA 4-3a-c, 8-10A[3]; NFHS 3-4-1c, 8-9-1; USSSA FP 5-7 Pen., 8-3A).


Under NFHS rules, the illegal substitute should be declared out and restricted to the bench. Do any of the other rules sets allow the illegal sub to be replaced by a different player on the bases?

SITUATION # 2: R1 is on first base and takes off on a hit-and-run. R1 touches second and is on her way to third as F8 makes a diving catch for the first out of the inning. F8 jumps to her feet and overthrows the ball into the first-base bench area. R1 is halfway between second and third as the ball leaves F8's hand. During the dead ball as the umpire awards the runner additional bases, R1 attempts to return to tag up at first base.

RULING # 2: R1 is awarded two bases to third base, but she never tagged up and cannot return to touch a base if she is on a base beyond the base she left too soon when the ball becomes dead. If the defensive coach appeals she never tagged up, R1 is out. Stopping the runner and pointing out she cannot return during the dead ball advantages the defense into making an appeal they might not have noticed (ASA 8-7F, 8-7I[3], R/S 1; NFHS 8-3-2 Effect, 8-4-3f Except. 2; NCAA 7.1.1.3, 12.28, 12.28.4.3; USSSA FP 9-1B, 9-3A, 9-6A, USSSA SP Rule 3-Appeal play, 8-5T Effect; 8-12D).


Under NFHS rules, would it not be correct to award R1 home if she was between second base and third base when the ball left F8's hand?

Last edited by bbsbvb83; Fri May 17, 2013 at 11:13am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POI and Referee Magazine case play Back In The Saddle Basketball 70 Mon Sep 29, 2008 07:09pm
Referee Magazine... WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 0 Tue Dec 06, 2005 08:23pm
Referee Magazine bkbjones Softball 1 Thu May 19, 2005 03:51pm
REFEREE magazine john reed Baseball 3 Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:58pm
Referee Magazine Jay R Basketball 15 Mon Dec 29, 2003 07:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1