The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 15, 2013, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
USSSA Umpire Interference

I found mention of Umpire Interference with a catcher's throw but, I cannot find UI when hit by a batted ball.

This rules book is not my favorite layout
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 01:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
You won't find it...duck and roll blue!
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 01:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
you mean red.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 06:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
SLOW PITCH
Umpire interference – Occurs when a fair-batted ball strikes the umpire on
fair ground before passing a fielder other than the pitcher.

If the fair batted ball hits the umpire or base runner after passing a fielder
other than the pitcher, or touches any fielder including the pitcher, it remains
in play with all runners being in jeopardy.


The runners must return to their bases when an umpire is struck by a fair batted ball, before it touches a fielder or passes any fielder other than the Pitcher, base runners may be forced to advance if the batter is credited with a hit, thus awarded first base, thereby forcing other runners to advance.

FAST PITCH
Umpire interference is when the Umpire, inadvertently moves so as to
hinder a catcher’s attempt to throw or when a fair, untouched ball touches
an Umpire before the closest infielder has a reasonable opportunity to
field the ball.

It is not Umpire interference if, on a passed ball or wild
pitch, the Umpire gets hit by a thrown ball from the catcher. The ball is
live.

If a fair ball strikes an Umpire after having passed an infielder other than the pitcher, and provided no other fielder had a chance to make an out, or when a fair batted ball has been touched by an infielder, including the pitcher, the ball is in play.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Thanks, sounds about right....where is it in the book?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
I cannot imagine.

I saw a guy get hit not that long ago...of course it was after the ball passed an infielder. However, I cannot find it in the book at all
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robmoz View Post
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?
My first thought, too!
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Back to the OP....is it in the book?

If I ever get hit, I would like to be able to refer to the actual rule that says play on. I cannot find it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
ASA - 8.1.e
USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
you mean red.
...or Black
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robmoz View Post
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?
Really REALLY deep F4 or F6. Or conceivably the 5th infielder or extreme shift situation, although I see that being far more likely in baseball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
ASA - 8.1.e
USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1
They must have changed some things in the 2013 USSSA rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
Back to the OP....is it in the book?

If I ever get hit, I would like to be able to refer to the actual rule that says play on. I cannot find it.
Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA Ump MN View Post
Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!
huh? 8.2? That is the Look Back Rule

It is 8.7.E
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference bob jenkins Baseball 17 Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm
Umpire Interference mbyron Baseball 2 Tue Jul 20, 2010 01:28pm
umpire interference sixlehs Baseball 1 Sat May 05, 2007 07:19am
Runner interference versus umpire interference Jay R Baseball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm
Umpire interference collinb Softball 5 Wed Feb 14, 2001 08:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1