The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 480
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."
Chris Z.
Detroit/SE Michigan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
I cannot imagine.

I saw a guy get hit not that long ago...of course it was after the ball passed an infielder. However, I cannot find it in the book at all
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robmoz View Post
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?
My first thought, too!
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Back to the OP....is it in the book?

If I ever get hit, I would like to be able to refer to the actual rule that says play on. I cannot find it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
ASA - 8.1.e
USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
ASA - 8.1.e
USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1
They must have changed some things in the 2013 USSSA rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
USSSA - 8.7.E, 10.1.F.1[/QUOTE]

And also covered on Pg.20 of the 2013 USSSA Fast Pitch Clarifications and Interpretations.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
Back to the OP....is it in the book?

If I ever get hit, I would like to be able to refer to the actual rule that says play on. I cannot find it.
Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA Ump MN View Post
Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!
huh? 8.2? That is the Look Back Rule

It is 8.7.E
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA Ump MN View Post
Rule 8 section 2 in the 2013 rule book!
Correct, I looked at 11th edition, not 12th.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Correct, I looked at 11th edition, not 12th.
Are you guys talking about USSSA? 8.2 is the look back rule.

I actually found it online: http://www.usssa.com/usssa/usssa-gen...013FPRules.pdf Page 45-46
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
Are you guys talking about USSSA? 8.2 is the look back rule.

I actually found it online: http://www.usssa.com/usssa/usssa-gen...013FPRules.pdf Page 45-46
Yes we are/were talking the 2013 USSSA Slow Pitch rule book.

What a mess...

Here's a link! I can't remember where I got my 2013 SP copy but it's much better then this one...

http://www.usssa.com/usssa/usssa-gen...SPRuleBook.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robmoz View Post
In what situation would an umpire be in a position to get hit by a batted ball before it passes an infielder?
Really REALLY deep F4 or F6. Or conceivably the 5th infielder or extreme shift situation, although I see that being far more likely in baseball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Really REALLY deep F4 or F6. Or conceivably the 5th infielder or extreme shift situation, although I see that being far more likely in baseball.
Admittedly know almost nothing about USSSA, but

In NCAA/ASA/NFHS still almost impossible; the interpretation of "in front of" versus "behind" is NOT parallel to the baseline, it is the string theory line between the two closest infielders. Unless F3 and/or F5 are SERIOUSLY deep, and completely ignoring a possible bunt, even really, REALLY deep F4 and F6 are still "in front" of any base umpire, as it applies to this rule.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Admittedly know almost nothing about USSSA, but

In NCAA/ASA/NFHS still almost impossible; the interpretation of "in front of" versus "behind" is NOT parallel to the baseline, it is the string theory line between the two closest infielders. Unless F3 and/or F5 are SERIOUSLY deep, and completely ignoring a possible bunt, even really, REALLY deep F4 and F6 are still "in front" of any base umpire, as it applies to this rule.
U-trip is the same... and while I agree with your "almost" impossible... I was trying to provide an example that gives the "almost" to the answer, as opposed to the answer simply being "impossible".

I can remember a case where, with a superstar LHB, and me in B, I was WAY deep to stay behind the F3-F4 line, both of whom were playing on the grass ... but I could see other umpires potentially staying in a more normal spot and being ahead of that line.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference bob jenkins Baseball 17 Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm
Umpire Interference mbyron Baseball 2 Tue Jul 20, 2010 01:28pm
umpire interference sixlehs Baseball 1 Sat May 05, 2007 07:19am
Runner interference versus umpire interference Jay R Baseball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm
Umpire interference collinb Softball 5 Wed Feb 14, 2001 08:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1