The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 27, 2013, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
That's why I put "force" in quotes. I realize a BR isn't forced at first base by definition.

But for all intents and purposes, the BR's status as she runs to first is the same as any other runner being forced to a base. In fact, it's even more restrictive (e.g., she can't reverse course when being tagged, she can't hinder a throw to the base while running outside a defined lane, etc.) So I respectfully disagree that she doesn't reinstate her requirement to go to first base should she mistakenly start returning to home.

After all, where else can she legally run to? The reason a force is reinstated on other runners is because they aren't entitled to anything else. The same is the case with the BR at first. It may not technically be a force play, but why treat it any differently?
AFAIC, you are making my case.

She is not the same as a runner. A runner always has a base to which she can return and be safe. The BR has no place which to return, she MUST go to 1B or risk being put out. By definition, once the BR reaches 1B safely, she is a runner and has various options. Once a player becomes a runner, there is no allowance returning her to BR status.

Has it not been established that a runner may take any path they choose? The newly ordained runner has the option of advancing to 2B or returning directly to 1B. If they select the first option, they have placed themselves in jeopardy and must be tagged off the base to be retired. If taking the latter option, 8.8.I provides the protection from liability to be put out. If the runner does not return directly, IMO, the runner surrenders the protection afforded under Rule 8.8 and the runner may now be put out.

Say this runner thought she was out, headed toward the 3B dugout and was crossing the IF near the circle and all of a sudden there was the realization she was still a live runner and headed for 2B. Are you going to call her out on appeal if the defense tags 1B? Again, is it not true the runner may establish her own base path? And if the runner wants to circle 1B prior to heading to 2B, under what rule do you call them out if they are not avoiding a tag?

I believe you are overthinking and trying to jam multiple rules together to satisfy what you perceive is a hole in the rules when there is no rule intended to be there.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DK3/Abandonment? DBrady Softball 3 Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:13pm
Abandonment 7.08(a) Larry1953 Baseball 12 Wed Sep 14, 2011 08:54am
Abandonment??? David M Baseball 39 Mon Aug 03, 2009 07:01pm
Abandonment LDUB Baseball 3 Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:59am
End of Game Abandonment TBBlue Baseball 14 Fri Jun 04, 2004 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1