The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 10:09am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
I don't currently have any ASA books handy, but I thought one exception to the obstruction rule was when a runner was obstructed while returning to a base she left too soon on a caught fly ball. If the obstruction doesn't prevent her from returning to the base safely, she's still out.

Yes, the PU should have still given the delayed dead ball signal. But as it played out--no chance to make it back to the base in time--there is nothing to award.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I don't currently have any ASA books handy, but I thought one exception to the obstruction rule was when a runner was obstructed while returning to a base she left too soon on a caught fly ball. If the obstruction doesn't prevent her from returning to the base safely, she's still out.

Yes, the PU should have still given the delayed dead ball signal. But as it played out--no chance to make it back to the base in time--there is nothing to award.
I see no such exception in my book.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I see no such exception in my book.
Its in the rules supplement. The example given is a runner on 2nd leaving to early on a caught fly ball and is obstructed trying to return. If the umpire judges the runner still would not have made it back absent the obstruction, the out stands.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Its in the rules supplement. The example given is a runner on 2nd leaving to early on a caught fly ball and is obstructed trying to return. If the umpire judges the runner still would not have made it back absent the obstruction, the out stands.
Is this the same in NCAA?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 02:19pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby View Post
Is this the same in NCAA?
From the NCAA rule book:

A.R. 9.3.3.2: A base runner who leaves second base too soon on a touched fly ball is returning after the ball is caught and is obstructed between second and third bases.
RULING: If the base runner would not have returned safely to second base before the throw arrived, she would remain out.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I see no such exception in my book.
8.5.B.1 An obstructed runner may not be called out between two bases where obstructed. EXCEPTIONS: ... e. Leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched.

That exception applies to both the OP and the example given in RS 36.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
8.5.B.1 An obstructed runner may not be called out between two bases where obstructed. EXCEPTIONS: ... e. Leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched.
Be careful here. That is only an exception to the point that a player cannot be call out between the bases where obstructed. It does not absolve any enforcement, just allows violations to other rules to be applied.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Be careful here. That is only an exception to the point that a player cannot be call out between the bases where obstructed. It does not absolve any enforcement, just allows violations to other rules to be applied.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction ignored? mj Baseball 31 Fri May 22, 2009 11:22am
obstruction Fed vs ASA ronald Softball 56 Sun May 10, 2009 10:02pm
Obstruction? booker227 Softball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2005 03:59pm
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 6 Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm
ASA obstruction David Emerling Softball 39 Tue May 20, 2003 10:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1