The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2013, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Dead Ball Penalty

Standard high school set up in our area. Temporary fences that stretch from foul line to foul line. There is a gap from foul line to dead ball line, usually a chalked line.

Any balls that go beyond fence in foul territory are ruled 2 base award (ground rule double).

Batter hits one over F5's head, lands, and starts tailing into foul territory. F7 runs over, knocks the ball down, and as she is reaching for the ball, kicks it past the temporary fence.

I ruled 2 bases from time of pitch. Offensive coach stated she should get an extra base.

I'm thinking 8-4-3h is the applicable rule ?

Thoughts ?
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2013, 10:22am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
8-4-3h is applicable if the ball deflects off the fielder and goes into DBT. You have a case where the fielder provided the additional impetus that sent the ball into DBT that would have otherwise stayed in play.

So I think the appropriate rule would be 8-4-3f, and it should be two bases from the time of the "kick".
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2013, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
I have a 2 base award from the TOP.

8-4-3f pertains to when the defense gains possession of the ball and then throws it out of play.
Quote:
f. the ball is in play and is overthrown (beyond the boundary lines) or is blocked by the defense.

PENALTY: (Art. 3f) All runners will be awarded two bases, and the award will be governed by the positions of the runners when the ball left the fielder's hand. Runners may return to touch a missed base or base left too soon. If two runners are between the same bases, the award is based on the position of the lead runner.
8-4-3h pertains to an uncontrolled batted ball that goes out of play:
Quote:
h. a fair ball bounces over or rolls under or through a fence or any designated boundary of the playing field. Also, when it deflects off of a defensive player and goes out of play in foul territory, deflects off a runner or umpire and goes out of play after having passed an infielder excluding the pitcher and provided no other fielder had a chance to make an out.

PENALTY: (Art. 3h) The ball is dead and all runners are awarded two bases from the time of the pitch.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2013, 11:24am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
I have a 2 base award from the TOP.

8-4-3f pertains to when the defense gains possession of the ball and then throws it out of play.


8-4-3h pertains to an uncontrolled batted ball that goes out of play:
So, ball is hit down the line and stops just short of DBT. F7 goes after it, and the BR is rounding second going to third. F7 stumbles and inadvertently kicks the ball, which makes it go into DBT. We're supposed to kill play and send the BR back to second base, even though she had an easy triple??

I don't think that's what 8-4-3H intended.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2013, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
So, ball is hit down the line and stops just short of DBT. F7 goes after it, and the BR is rounding second going to third. F7 stumbles and inadvertently kicks the ball, which makes it go into DBT. We're supposed to kill play and send the BR back to second base, even though she had an easy triple??

I don't think that's what 8-4-3H intended.
What if I'm the BR and I'm still not to 1B when the ball goes out of play. Are you going to leave me at 1B or are you going to put me on 2B?

If you put me on 2B, what gives you the authority to put a rabbit on 3B?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2013, 11:43am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
What if I'm the BR and I'm still not to 1B when the ball goes out of play. Are you going to leave me at 1B or are you going to put me on 2B?
I mentioned 8-4-3f, and said that the Effect should be two bases from the time of the kick. So if the BR is only on first base when it happens, she gets awarded third. If she's on second, then she scores.

Or perhaps the appropriate ruling is one base from when the ball enters DBT, using the 8-4-3f Exception 1. And that would be in line with the catch-n-carry rule, 8-4-3i.

But I don't agree that it should be a TOP award.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2013, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
So, ball is hit down the line and stops just short of DBT. F7 goes after it, and the BR is rounding second going to third. F7 stumbles and inadvertently kicks the ball, which makes it go into DBT. We're supposed to kill play and send the BR back to second base, even though she had an easy triple??

I don't think that's what 8-4-3H intended.
I believe you are incorrect about intentions here.

Consider a similar case - typical ground rule double - bouncer over the homerun fence. Rabbit on 1st scores before the ball even bounces ... we put that runner back on 3rd anyway.

If the kick was inadvertent, we simply have a fair batted ball out of play - 2 bases from TOP. Period.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dead Ball Penalty at End of 4th Down? Trent123 Football 6 Wed Sep 26, 2012 01:52pm
Penalty assessments on dead ball fouls gtwbam Football 10 Tue Aug 29, 2006 04:17pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? cmckenna Baseball 2 Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1