The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 02, 2013, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I'm trying to think of a reason to not honor the missed base appeal...but I can't.

Unless it's that the offensive coach picked the result of the play and now the final result of the play has changed. But I see the result of the play as being "the runner from second advanced to home, missing third base along the way". That's the option the coach picked, so that's what we have.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 02, 2013, 12:55pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
I, too, would argue that the appeal would stand. Bases passed are bases achieved, so the "play" that is given as an option for the offensive coach to choose from would not be affected by his/her runner's infraction. The umpire would certainly not tell the coach, "Well, if you accept the play, your runner will score if the defense doesn't subsequently appeal the fact that she missed third."
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 11:52am
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Agree with BretMan and CeiclOne.

I had a very similar case this year while BU.

On a hit ground ball to the outfield, there was obstruction at 3rd base (blocking the base), and the runner missed 3rd base on the way to scoring at home plate.

The defense properly appealed the missed base.

I immediately called both coaches and the PU together and explained, that there were 2 infractions on this play at 3rd base: obstruction by the 3rd baseman and the runner missed 3rd base. I sent the scored runner back to 3rd base.

Both coaches agreed. Next batter. I still don't know if this was the proper call, but all were pleased.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex View Post
Agree with BretMan and CeiclOne.

I had a very similar case this year while BU.

On a hit ground ball to the outfield, there was obstruction at 3rd base (blocking the base), and the runner missed 3rd base on the way to scoring at home plate.

The defense properly appealed the missed base.

I immediately called both coaches and the PU together and explained, that there were 2 infractions on this play at 3rd base: obstruction by the 3rd baseman and the runner missed 3rd base. I sent the scored runner back to 3rd base.

Both coaches agreed. Next batter. I still don't know if this was the proper call, but all were pleased.
It's not. But this is different from the OP, where a coach first has to choose between play and penalty, and THEN there's an appeal.

In your case, you should not hold a press conference - you simply announce the obstruction and the award (home - not 3rd!). The offense then has the opportunity to retouch home, 3rd, home, if they want to. You don't announce this though. Then, after it's obvious whether offense is going to do anything, the defense may appeal the miss - and she's out.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
It's not. But this is different from the OP, where a coach first has to choose between play and penalty, and THEN there's an appeal.

In your case, you should not hold a press conference - you simply announce the obstruction and the award (home - not 3rd!). The offense then has the opportunity to retouch home, 3rd, home, if they want to. You don't announce this though. Then, after it's obvious whether offense is going to do anything, the defense may appeal the miss - and she's out.
I guess you are saying that time to the runner had time to score and that only the missed base was caused by the obstruction.

If so, then why is she out, the award should negate the OBS?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I guess you are saying that time to the runner had time to score and that only the missed base was caused by the obstruction.
Grammar's a bit odd here, so I'm not positive I know what you're trying to ask me... but...

Quote:
If so, then why is she out, the award should negate the OBS?
She's out because she's required to run the bases correctly. This is made exceedingly clear in the rulebook. The award of home is intended to negate the OBS. And she's allowed to fulfill her baserunning duties when that award is made before any appeals will be honored. But if she chooses not to do so ...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Let me restate a bit, after re-reading your first statement. There's a school of thought out there that if the OBS CAUSES the miss (which wasn't clear in the OP, but a possibility), then the miss should be ignored. It's not exactly supported by the way the rule is written, but I get that and believe Irish belongs to that school of thought (not meaning to put words in anyone's mouth).

But even if you believe in that, and subscribe to that school ... Tex's ruling is still incorrect - the award of 3rd is wrong no matter which way you look at this. It's either an out, or it's home. Can't be 3rd.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal glove TwoBits Softball 14 Fri Sep 18, 2009 09:52am
Illegal Glove Duke Softball 41 Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:08pm
Illegal Glove Thaal Baseball 4 Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:38pm
Illegal Glove mach3 Softball 19 Mon May 10, 2004 12:13pm
Illegal glove??? TxUmp Baseball 2 Thu Mar 25, 2004 10:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1