The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 15, 2013, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
2013 NFHS Interpretations

SITUATION 1: The pitcher, while standing on the pitcher's plate taking her signal from the catcher, tosses the ball back and forth between her glove and pitching hand several times. Once she receives the signal, she then brings her hands together and pitches the ball. RULING: The ball must remain in one hand or the other while the pitcher takes or simulates taking the signal. If she is tossing the ball back and forth from one hand to the other while taking the signal, it would be considered an illegal pitch (for not taking the signal with the ball being held in one or the other). The illegal pitch would be called the first time the pitcher’s hands come together and then separate while tossing the ball back and forth. COMMENT: If the pitcher flipped the ball back and forth between the hand and glove without actually bringing the hands together, then held the ball in the hand or glove while taking the signal and started the pitch, her actions would be legal. (6-1-1a,b)



SITUATION 2: With R1 on third base and R2 on first base, B3 hits the ball to F3, who throws home. The throw carries F2 into the plate umpire. F2’s arm strikes the umpire while attempting to throw to third, causing a wild throw into left field. RULING: This is not considered interference. Play would continue. (5-1-1f1; 8-5-6) COMMENT: Since this has happened during playing action, the umpire is considered part of the playing field. Umpires should do everything possible to avoid contact with the offense or defense, but there are times when contact simply cannot be avoided.



SITUATION 3: A pitcher uses a drying agent but fails to wipe it off before touching the ball. RULING: The pitcher does not need to wipe the drying agent off her hands. The only restriction is not to apply it directly to the ball. (6-2-2)



SITUATION 4: With R1 on third base, F2 attempts to return the ball to F1 but her arm strikes the umpire in the mask and the throw goes into the dugout or into center field allowing R1 to score. RULING: The umpire should call “time” and return R1 to third base. In this situation there was no apparent play; F2 was simply returning the ball back to F1. The umpire should have both the offense and the defense reset and continue play. (10-2-3m)



SITUATION 5: A pitcher places her hands in the dirt; however, she does not wipe the dirt from her hands before touching the ball. RULING: The pitcher does not need to wipe the dirt from her hands before going to the ball. Dirt is NOT a foreign substance; it is part of the field. The pitcher cannot, however, rub the ball into the dirt and deface it. (6-2-2)



SITUATION 6: If the batter reaches first base safely and each other runner advances at least one base, the illegal pitch is ignored. RULING: All action stands and the illegal pitch is cancelled. (6-1-1 Exception)



SITUATION 7: Is the stinger attachment legal for the knob? RULING: Yes, provided it is covering the knob and the umpire has inspected the bat to ensure it is safely attached. (1-5-2a)



SITUATION 8: The coach gives the runner, who has been walked, a "high five" on her way to first base. RULING: Legal, as long as the coach has not assisted the batter-runner by pulling or pushing her. (2-32-1; 8-6-5)



SITUATION 9: The umpire discovers a bat that has a knob flush with the handle. RULING: Legal. (1-5-1; 1-5-2a)



SITUATION 10: The coach, standing in the coach’s box, is in possession of an iPad that she uses as a scorebook. RULING: Legal. (2-13; 3-6-10)



SITUATION 11: The runner positions herself behind and not in contact with a base to get a running start on any fly ball. RULING: The base umpire should signal the out when the violation occurs and the ball remains live. (8-6-20)
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 NFHS Rule Interpretations TxUmp Baseball 0 Tue Feb 07, 2006 09:03am
NFHS Baseball interpretations DownTownTonyBrown Baseball 6 Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:45pm
NFHS RULES INTERPRETATIONS whiskers_ump Softball 0 Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:47pm
NFHS Interpretations MOFFICIAL Basketball 5 Wed Feb 13, 2002 10:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1