![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() The conumdrum is that nowhere does it definitively state that a batter-runner is out if he/she hits an infield fly, period. It doesn't say that in the Rule 1 Definitions. That only defines what constitutes an Infield Fly. 8-2-I used to under the old rule, but now it reads as if it requires the batter-runner to be hit with the ball. Yes, that may cover one specific instance. But the "routine" infield fly declaration was removed when the two sentences were combined into one. 8-2-J only says an Infield Fly has precedence over an intentionally dropped ball. But again, what do you go back to to find that precedence? 8-4-L mentions the Infield Fly, but only in the context of when other runners may advance. 9-1-A provides guidance on an Infield Fly as it relates to protests. The NCAA rule book definitively states a batter is out if she hits an infield fly under Defintion 1.68 and Rule 11.18. The NFHS rule book also clearly states that in Definition 2-30 and in Rule 8-2-9. The ASA book? Not anymore. I know, I know. Asinine and stupid. But to me, equally mysterious.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Trivia 4 | MD Longhorn | Softball | 46 | Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:38pm |
| Trivia 3 | MD Longhorn | Softball | 43 | Thu Nov 08, 2012 07:34pm |
| A little trivia///// | TimTaylor | Basketball | 0 | Sat Dec 11, 2010 02:15am |
| Trivia Time | LMan | Baseball | 4 | Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:29pm |
| Softball Trivia | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Wed Aug 29, 2001 11:28am |