![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
12.9.5 BASE RUNNER IS OUT Question as posed to Dee- This true-false question was presented at our meeting: The base runner from third base scores (lead runner) and the base runner from second base (trailing runner) follows her but misses home plate on her slide. The umpire calls "No Tag" and gives the safe sign. The lead runner helps the trailing runner get to her feet. She touches the plate before the tag and is ruled safe. The answer was False. I contend that the trailing runner is not a runner anymore because she is considered safe until the appeal. Dee's Interpretation- She is out under 12.9.5 The trailing runner knows she missed home plate so she is headed back to tag it. The catcher has heard the umpire declare "no tag" and is attempting to tag the trailing runner before she can score. But before the play finishes, the trailing runner is illegally contacted by a teammate. When the defense appeals that the base runner missed the base and then was assisted by a base runner who had already scored, she will be declared out under 12.9.5. Last edited by KJUmp; Mon Feb 04, 2013 at 09:36pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() See for example 7.1.1.2.5(a). This is the same organization that wants their plate umpires to signal safe on a dropped third strike and announce "no catch". |
|
|||
|
Though it didn't explicitly say so, the implication was that there was an actual play at the plate, the tag was missed and the runner missed the base.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
|
9.5.3 really has nothing to do with physically assisting a runner. It is intended to prevent a gathering around home plate whereby the defense and the umpires can't even see the runner cross the plate. That's why it is under rule 9 - Defense. Note: This rule doesn't even apply to base coaches or base runners.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
|
I know a D1 umpire who called the BR out for this very reason (teammates high fiving at home plate prior to touching home) without any prior warning issued on an over the fence HR. That was in a HS playoff game. It was a game tying run turned into an out that cost the team the game. That umpire is still calling D1 ball.
Quote:
Last edited by shagpal; Tue Feb 05, 2013 at 12:21pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() I'm surprised that umpire is still calling JV games. LOL |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is applying a game-effect ruling on an action that has no affect on the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
And your point is...?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There is no mention of a tag by F2 in the question the umpire submitted. In her answer, Dee makes the assumption that there was a tag. |
|
|||
|
The fact that there was a slide is a big clue to me that there was a play... and the fact that the umpire said no tag is a bigger clue.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() As mentioned earlier, true 9.5.3 has nothing to do with the play. I was looking at the part of 12.9.5 that refers to "actively running the bases and the ball is in play" I guess, because she missed home, Dee is saying that she is still "actively running the bases" I was thinking that since she "passed" home and is assumed to have touched it unless appealed, she might no longer be considered actively running the bases.... Is she saying that since the offense recognized that she missed the base and acted on it, she is "reactivated"...... I guess I could buy that, but then what do you do if she actually DID touch home, but someone thought she didn't and pushed her and she went back to touch the plate? ![]() And the other part (that wasn't answered in Dee's answer) was the fact that the ball wasn't in play.... In fact a similar question might come up if she missed any base on a home rune and was physically assisted back (by a non-active runner). |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| appeal at home plate - runner missed touching the plate | splitveer | Softball | 4 | Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:15am |
| Team USA Softball Loss After Missing Home Plate? | kyleflan | Softball | 4 | Fri Aug 29, 2008 08:10am |
| Proper Mechanic Runner Missing Home | gordon30307 | Baseball | 4 | Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:17am |
| Batter touching home plate while hitting - OBR | jesmael | Baseball | 20 | Thu Jun 17, 2004 02:52pm |
| Batter-runner steps on home plate | Bluefoot | Baseball | 11 | Fri Sep 12, 2003 10:30pm |