The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2013, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
Am I correct that there is no penalty for team mates or coaches assiting a batter runner after she missed home plate on an out if the park home run?
I'm looking at 12-9.5 & 9-5.3
While not the exact same sitch (no out of the park HR involved), I think Dee Abrahamson's interpretation of the following question (Ask Dee 4/27/12-Pg.55) addresses the question asked in the OP:

12.9.5
BASE RUNNER IS OUT

Question as posed to Dee-
This true-false question was presented at our meeting:
The base runner from third base scores (lead runner) and the base runner from second base (trailing runner) follows her but misses home plate on her slide. The umpire calls "No Tag" and gives the safe sign. The lead runner helps the trailing runner get to her feet. She touches the plate before the tag and is ruled safe. The answer was False. I contend that the trailing runner is not a runner anymore because she is considered safe until the appeal.

Dee's Interpretation-
She is out under 12.9.5
The trailing runner knows she missed home plate so she is headed back to tag it. The catcher has heard the umpire declare "no tag" and is attempting to tag the trailing runner before she can score. But before the play finishes, the trailing runner is illegally contacted by a teammate. When the defense appeals that the base runner missed the base and then was assisted by a base runner who had already scored, she will be declared out under 12.9.5.

Last edited by KJUmp; Mon Feb 04, 2013 at 09:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2013, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
While not the exact same sitch (no out of the park HR involved), I think Dee Abrahamson's interpretation of the following question (Ask Dee 4/27/12-Pg.55) addresses the question asked in the OP:

12.9.5
BASE RUNNER IS OUT

Question as posed to Dee-
This true-false question was presented at our meeting:
The base runner from third base scores (lead runner) and the base runner from second base (trailing runner) follows her but misses home plate on her slide. The umpire calls "No Tag" and gives the safe sign. The lead runner helps the trailing runner get to her feet. She touches the plate before the tag and is ruled safe. The answer was False. I contend that the trailing runner is not a runner anymore because she is considered safe until the appeal.

Dee's Interpretation-
She is out under 12.9.5
The trailing runner knows she missed home plate so she is headed back to tag it. The catcher has heard the umpire declare "no tag" and is attempting to tag the trailing runner before she can score. But before the play finishes, the trailing runner is illegally contacted by a teammate. When the defense appeals that the base runner missed the base and then was assisted by a base runner who had already scored, she will be declared out under 12.9.5.
Why is the umpire declaring "no tag"? There is no indication there was a play at any time prior to a possible appeal.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 12:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why is the umpire declaring "no tag"? There is no indication there was a play at any time prior to a possible appeal.
Guessing NCAA wants umpires to announce that an appeal is possible.

See for example 7.1.1.2.5(a).


This is the same organization that wants their plate umpires to signal safe on a dropped third strike and announce "no catch".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
Guessing NCAA wants umpires to announce that an appeal is possible.

See for example 7.1.1.2.5(a).


This is the same organization that wants their plate umpires to signal safe on a dropped third strike and announce "no catch".
Though it didn't explicitly say so, the implication was that there was an actual play at the plate, the tag was missed and the runner missed the base.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
9.5.3 really has nothing to do with physically assisting a runner. It is intended to prevent a gathering around home plate whereby the defense and the umpires can't even see the runner cross the plate. That's why it is under rule 9 - Defense. Note: This rule doesn't even apply to base coaches or base runners.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 372
I know a D1 umpire who called the BR out for this very reason (teammates high fiving at home plate prior to touching home) without any prior warning issued on an over the fence HR. That was in a HS playoff game. It was a game tying run turned into an out that cost the team the game. That umpire is still calling D1 ball.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
9.5.3 really has nothing to do with physically assisting a runner. It is intended to prevent a gathering around home plate whereby the defense and the umpires can't even see the runner cross the plate. That's why it is under rule 9 - Defense. Note: This rule doesn't even apply to base coaches or base runners.

Last edited by shagpal; Tue Feb 05, 2013 at 12:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
I know a D1 umpired who called the BR out for this very reason (teammates high fiving at home plate prior to touching home) without any prior warning issued on an over the fence HR. That was in a HS playoff game.
-snip-
That umpire is still calling D1 ball.
Still calling D1???
I'm surprised that umpire is still calling JV games. LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
I know a D1 umpired who called the BR out for this very reason (teammates high fiving at home plate prior to touching home) without any prior warning issued on an over the fence HR. That was in a HS playoff game. It was a game tying run turned into an out that cost the team the game. That umpire is still calling D1 ball.
Is the Fed rule on this the same as NCAA 9.5.3?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
I know a D1 umpire who called the BR out for this very reason (teammates high fiving at home plate prior to touching home) without any prior warning issued on an over the fence HR. That was in a HS playoff game. It was a game tying run turned into an out that cost the team the game. That umpire is still calling D1 ball.
I believe the "no contact" rule is absolutely ridiculous.

It is applying a game-effect ruling on an action that has no affect on the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
9.5.3 really has nothing to do with physically assisting a runner. It is intended to prevent a gathering around home plate whereby the defense and the umpires can't even see the runner cross the plate. That's why it is under rule 9 - Defense. Note: This rule doesn't even apply to base coaches or base runners.
FWIW, I'm aware that 9.5.3 was not applicable (for the reason you mentioned). I just mentioned it to make sure no one mistakenly tried to apply it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 08:07am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
This is the same organization that wants their plate umpires to signal safe on a dropped third strike and announce "no catch".
And your point is...?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why is the umpire declaring "no tag"? There is no indication there was a play at any time prior to a possible appeal.
Good catch.
There is no mention of a tag by F2 in the question the umpire submitted.
In her answer, Dee makes the assumption that there was a tag.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why is the umpire declaring "no tag"? There is no indication there was a play at any time prior to a possible appeal.
The fact that there was a slide is a big clue to me that there was a play... and the fact that the umpire said no tag is a bigger clue.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
While not the exact same sitch (no out of the park HR involved), I think Dee Abrahamson's interpretation of the following question (Ask Dee 4/27/12-Pg.55) addresses the question asked in the OP:

12.9.5
BASE RUNNER IS OUT

Question as posed to Dee-
This true-false question was presented at our meeting:
The base runner from third base scores (lead runner) and the base runner from second base (trailing runner) follows her but misses home plate on her slide. The umpire calls "No Tag" and gives the safe sign. The lead runner helps the trailing runner get to her feet. She touches the plate before the tag and is ruled safe. The answer was False. I contend that the trailing runner is not a runner anymore because she is considered safe until the appeal.

Dee's Interpretation-
She is out under 12.9.5
The trailing runner knows she missed home plate so she is headed back to tag it. The catcher has heard the umpire declare "no tag" and is attempting to tag the trailing runner before she can score. But before the play finishes, the trailing runner is illegally contacted by a teammate. When the defense appeals that the base runner missed the base and then was assisted by a base runner who had already scored, she will be declared out under 12.9.5.
Then maybe I am not correct.
As mentioned earlier, true 9.5.3 has nothing to do with the play.
I was looking at the part of 12.9.5 that refers to "actively running the bases and the ball is in play"
I guess, because she missed home, Dee is saying that she is still "actively running the bases" I was thinking that since she "passed" home and is assumed to have touched it unless appealed, she might no longer be considered actively running the bases.... Is she saying that since the offense recognized that she missed the base and acted on it, she is "reactivated"......
I guess I could buy that, but then what do you do if she actually DID touch home, but someone thought she didn't and pushed her and she went back to touch the plate?

And the other part (that wasn't answered in Dee's answer) was the fact that the ball wasn't in play....
In fact a similar question might come up if she missed any base on a home rune and was physically assisted back (by a non-active runner).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
appeal at home plate - runner missed touching the plate splitveer Softball 4 Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:15am
Team USA Softball Loss After Missing Home Plate? kyleflan Softball 4 Fri Aug 29, 2008 08:10am
Proper Mechanic Runner Missing Home gordon30307 Baseball 4 Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:17am
Batter touching home plate while hitting - OBR jesmael Baseball 20 Thu Jun 17, 2004 02:52pm
Batter-runner steps on home plate Bluefoot Baseball 11 Fri Sep 12, 2003 10:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1