The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 09, 2013, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Bret, I can only give you the NCAA interpretation, and know the intent of NFHS is/was to match that interpretation.

Remaining in her spot in the batter's box, or only turning so that she is hit in less painful spot does not meet the exception of "deliberately". If the batter moves and is hit in a place she would NOT have been hit had she not moved (generally toward or closer to the plate, not toward the pitcher, but also possibly dropping an elbow or hand), THEN you should apply the "deliberately" exception.

Kind of similar to "actively" hindering while in the batter's box.
I can buy that...but have not yet had the rule presented to me in those terms by any of our NFHS "higher-ups". But the season is young and our meetings will stsrt in a couple of weeks...

FED does seem to have a knack for taking simple rules, even rules that have served us well for decades, and changing them so that they are "better", then writing them in a less-than-optimal fashion that can leave us guessing at how they should be interpreted.

Then, often, their follow-up interpretations can cause more confusion than they are trying to clear up. Case in point- the printed interpretations from a couple of years ago that were used to clarify when a runner is penalized for continuing to run after being declared out (interference). While the rule in the rule book is geared toward retired runners (as opposed to retired batter-runners or retired batters), they chose to illustrate the new rule with an uncaught third strike play, thus mixing in several elements from several different rules.

The "take away" that many umpires and coaches seemed to get from that was that anytime a retired batter runs toward first base after striking out, when she is not entitled to advance, it should automatically be interference. And they would justify that assumption by saying that "it's a new rule" and pointing to the printed interpretation as their "proof".

Along the same lines, we have the recent "bunt attempt" rule change. That rule says that "holding the bat in the strike zone is an attempt". Okay...so what if the batter squares to bunt, but holds the bat out over the plate at shoulder height. If she does not withdraw the bat, is that a bunt attempt? Not by a strict reading of the rule- the bat was not held in the strike zone.

Same with a batter who is moved up in the box. If she squares to bunt, she could be holding the bat straight out in front of the plate. That is not in the strike zone. Is that an offer?

Only the FED knows for sure!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Federation rule.. azbigdawg Softball 18 Thu Mar 31, 2005 05:03pm
Oregon Federation Rule Experiment Uncle Ernie Football 5 Tue Feb 10, 2004 02:15pm
Federation Rule Question sloth Football 15 Thu Jul 10, 2003 05:15am
Federation Contemplated Rule Changes Mregor Basketball 40 Tue Mar 11, 2003 01:03pm
Federation Dropped Third Strike Rule Tsmokie Softball 2 Mon Mar 20, 2000 01:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1