![]() |
|
|
|||
OBS - Bases awarded !
Quote:
Is the ball truly dead immediately upon the 'tag'? What happens if there's other activity going on with the other runners ahead of this one? Other than that this all makes sense...thanks |
|
|||
Yes. But the rule also tells you to place ALL runners where you think they would have achieved. So say you have a runner rounding third and a play at 2nd on a runner that was obstructed at first. When they tag that runner, the ball is dead, award the runner 2nd (or 1st, possibly), and then put the other runner either home or 3rd based on where you think they would have gotten had the play continued.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
After you ... but look what he quoted. No, he was not responding to you. He was responding to the person he quoted.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
The only time the ball is not dead is if the runner will actually be out on the tag When would that be?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
I think he meant a play where something supersedes the OBS, like INT or ...
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Waiting for youngump's explain ![]() ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I meant if the runner has achieved the protected base and there's been a subsequent play on another runner. Consequently the runner is actually out when tagged. And since the runner is out we have no need to kill the play.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I'm a little slow, I guess and didn't deduce that from what was written. Thanks for the clarification. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Grant time-out or not | altus | Basketball | 14 | Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:09am |
Grant Time Out? | Zoochy | Basketball | 10 | Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:30pm |
Safe/Out on Double first base | Vinney | Softball | 3 | Mon Oct 04, 2004 05:55pm |
TO grant it or not | cmathews | Basketball | 2 | Fri Feb 27, 2004 11:54am |
Grant or not to Grant??? | jshock | Basketball | 6 | Thu Nov 21, 2002 03:43pm |