The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 18
Need some clarification....A player who, instead of "saving" or throwing the ball back on to the court, calls Timeout while in control of the basketball and airborne, is permitted by rule to call a Time Out. Correct???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 285
NFHS rules, yes.
__________________
To tolerate mediocrity is to foster it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 18
Where is that ruling found in the rule/casebook??
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:36pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,953
Lightbulb Only in the NBA.

Quote:
Originally posted by ScottParks
NFHS rules, yes.
In college too. This is only illegal in the NBA (have not clue about FIBA and really do not care ). And the NBA just changed this rule about 3 years ago.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally posted by jshock
Where is that ruling found in the rule/casebook??
Thanks.
I think the point is that it is not prohibited by any rule. Player control, TO request --- grant it!
__________________
To tolerate mediocrity is to foster it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 223
5-8-3a

This is also question #86 from this year's NFHS Part I exam. If the player has control of the ball, they get the time out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2002, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally posted by jshock
Where is that ruling found in the rule/casebook??
Thanks.

NF Case book 5.8.3 Situation D scenario a


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1