![]() |
|
|
|||
I believe we should only use UC when there is not a more specific rule that covers the particular play. If there is a rule that is exactly on point, we need to use this rule and I believe we have that in this case. I wouldn't use UC.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I assume you're referring to the two rules I mentioned in my post above. I just don't know if it's appropriate to bunch two different rules together like that to gain two outs.
Suppose it was the on-deck batter and not the third base coach that intentionally interfered with the foul fly. You can obviously use ASA 7-6-I to rule the batter out. But I cannot find any rule that penalizes the on-deck batter for purposely preventing a DP, and rule the runner out as well. So if it sounds like ASA doesn't support calling a DP should an on-deck batter (or other offensive player, for that matter) interfere here, can we hold the base coach to a different standard?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
I just have a hard time justifying to myself that if I can't use one or the other to rule a DP whenever any offensive team member blatantly prevents a fielder from catching a foul ball, I can just combine the two of them. And even then, that really only covers a base coach.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Fed only,
Interference on a Foul Fly by Runner or Coach Interference by runner: (8-6-10) Runner is out, strike to batter, batter still bats unless bunting on 3rd strike. Interference by coach: (3-5-6) Batter is out, runner(s) return. If the interference prevented a possible double play, both the batter and the runner closest home is also out. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Tex, the FED question was already answered by rwest.
The issue was how ASA treats this. rwest said that ASA won't allow for a Double Play (batter and runner closest to home are out). I countered by proposing we use two ASA rules, 7-6-I and 8-7-O, to get two outs on the play. Not sure if that holds water.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
I would have to see how the coach interfered. If did anything to initiate physical contact with F5, that coach is done, period. And before you start, it is nothing at all like two participating players making contact, as the coach has zero excuse for moving toward a fielder.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|