The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Here's one for you

Here's the scenario.

R1 on 1B. B2 hits a pop fly in foul territory near third base. R1 thinking there are two outs advances to 2nd. The coach realizing there is only 1 out interferes with F5's attempt to catch the ball.

What do you have in ASA?
What do you have in FED?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Here's the scenario.

R1 on 1B. B2 hits a pop fly in foul territory near third base. R1 thinking there are two outs advances to 2nd. The coach realizing there is only 1 out interferes with F5's attempt to catch the ball.

What do you have in ASA?
What do you have in FED?
Are you asking if a coach can be called for INT on a double play, like a retired runner?
I doubt if there is any such wording in the book, but definitely UC.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 08:34am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
FED ruling:

3-5-5 Pen.

R1 is out. Foul ball. Batter remains at bat.

Wow ... the penalty doesn't fit the crime here. Seems like you should be able to get two outs here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Take a Look at 7-4-12 Penalty

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
FED ruling:

3-5-5 Pen.

R1 is out. Foul ball. Batter remains at bat.

Wow ... the penalty doesn't fit the crime here. Seems like you should be able to get two outs here.
Look at 7-4-12 Penalty.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 09:20am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Whoops ... you're right. 3-5-5 specifically excludes a base coach. 3-5-6 is the applicable rule in FED. You've got two outs here which makes a whole lot more sense to me.
Quote:
ART. 6 . . . If any offensive team member, other than a runner or retired runner,
interferes with a batted fair ball or foul fly ball, the batter is declared out. If,
in the judgment of the umpire, the interference prevented a possible double play,
the batter and runner closest to home shall be declared out.
PENALTY: (Art. 6) The ball is dead immediately and the batter and runner may
be out. (8-6-16,17,19; 7-4-12)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Are you asking if a coach can be called for INT on a double play, like a retired runner?
I doubt if there is any such wording in the book, but definitely UC.
Check FED rule book 7-4-12. You can get a DP on this. But not in ASA.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Check FED rule book 7-4-12. You can get a DP on this. But not in ASA.
My focus is entirely ASA right now, National this week and no HS since May.
I read RADIO's post.

What do think of UC in either rules?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2012, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
My focus is entirely ASA right now, National this week and no HS since May.
I read RADIO's post.

What do think of UC in either rules?
I believe we should only use UC when there is not a more specific rule that covers the particular play. If there is a rule that is exactly on point, we need to use this rule and I believe we have that in this case. I wouldn't use UC.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2012, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I have 2 outs here - ASA rules posted above.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2012, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
I believe we should only use UC when there is not a more specific rule that covers the particular play. If there is a rule that is exactly on point, we need to use this rule and I believe we have that in this case. I wouldn't use UC.
Disagree. An UC has nothing to do with any number of outs which may be ruled, but the conduct of the individual whether the result of the act is covered by a rule or not.

I would have to see how the coach interfered. If did anything to initiate physical contact with F5, that coach is done, period.

And before you start, it is nothing at all like two participating players making contact, as the coach has zero excuse for moving toward a fielder.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 01, 2012, 11:04am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Check FED rule book 7-4-12. You can get a DP on this. But not in ASA.
What about ASA 7.6.I and 8.7.O? Which one do you use? Is it an either/or situation, or can you combine the two if you feel the base coach did something intentional?

7.6.I: [The batter is out] When members of the team at bat, including those in the team area, other than runners interfere with a player attempting to field a fair or foul fly ball.

8.7.O: [The runner is out] When a coach intentionally interferes with a batted or thrown ball, or interferes with the defensive team’s opportunity to make a play on another runner.

I'm confused...
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1