![]() |
Here's one for you
Here's the scenario.
R1 on 1B. B2 hits a pop fly in foul territory near third base. R1 thinking there are two outs advances to 2nd. The coach realizing there is only 1 out interferes with F5's attempt to catch the ball. What do you have in ASA? What do you have in FED? |
Quote:
I doubt if there is any such wording in the book, but definitely UC. |
FED ruling:
3-5-5 Pen. R1 is out. Foul ball. Batter remains at bat. Wow ... the penalty doesn't fit the crime here. Seems like you should be able to get two outs here. |
Take a Look at 7-4-12 Penalty
Quote:
|
Whoops ... you're right. 3-5-5 specifically excludes a base coach. 3-5-6 is the applicable rule in FED. You've got two outs here which makes a whole lot more sense to me.
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I read RADIO's post. What do think of UC in either rules? |
Quote:
7.6.I: [The batter is out] When members of the team at bat, including those in the team area, other than runners interfere with a player attempting to field a fair or foul fly ball. 8.7.O: [The runner is out] When a coach intentionally interferes with a batted or thrown ball, or interferes with the defensive team’s opportunity to make a play on another runner. I'm confused... |
Quote:
|
I have 2 outs here - ASA rules posted above.
|
Quote:
Suppose it was the on-deck batter and not the third base coach that intentionally interfered with the foul fly. You can obviously use ASA 7-6-I to rule the batter out. But I cannot find any rule that penalizes the on-deck batter for purposely preventing a DP, and rule the runner out as well. So if it sounds like ASA doesn't support calling a DP should an on-deck batter (or other offensive player, for that matter) interfere here, can we hold the base coach to a different standard? |
Quote:
I would have to see how the coach interfered. If did anything to initiate physical contact with F5, that coach is done, period. And before you start, it is nothing at all like two participating players making contact, as the coach has zero excuse for moving toward a fielder. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
I just have a hard time justifying to myself that if I can't use one or the other to rule a DP whenever any offensive team member blatantly prevents a fielder from catching a foul ball, I can just combine the two of them. And even then, that really only covers a base coach. |
Fed only,
Interference on a Foul Fly by Runner or Coach Interference by runner: (8-6-10) Runner is out, strike to batter, batter still bats unless bunting on 3rd strike. Interference by coach: (3-5-6) Batter is out, runner(s) return. If the interference prevented a possible double play, both the batter and the runner closest home is also out. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23pm. |