![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Actually, Steve answered the question in the OP which had absolutely NOTHING to do with the rules pertaining to the double base and BR.
My post was a simple explanation of the rule, not directed at anything in particular except to note that some people have a tendency to read into situations or rules. Let's see if I can make it a little more simple. On a play on the BR there are two bases, one for the defense and one for the offense (save an instance where one of the exceptions occur). If a fielder steps over the white and doesn't touch the white, the fielder still hasn't touched the base since the colored portion officially does not exist for the purpose of retiring the BR. I think Joe is looking for explicit direction from the rule book when there is no need. If the defense did not execute the proper procedure to put out the BR, the BR must be safe. Now, the question is may the BR touch the white portion and be considered to have touched 1B. According to the rule, the answer is no since the only allowance for the BR to be safe when there is a play at 1B (save an instance where on eof the exceptions occur), is to touch the colored base.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And the call is SAFE since the runner has passed the base before the fielder tagged it (pending appeal). Last edited by HugoTafurst; Thu Jun 28, 2012 at 09:22am. Reason: Fixed Tag |
|
|||
|
What if the batter-runner slides into the white base, and remains there (assuming there's a play at first)? The BR doesn't have to go back to the base, so the appeal time is done, or can we go right to calling the runner out for interference?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
|
Interference with what?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
The play at first base. Essentially, wouldn't a slide exclusively into the white base only possible if the batter-runner leaves the three-foot running lane?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
|
White base touch, slide or whatever, only INT if the BR hinders, impedes or confuses the covering fielder.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
8.4.M.9 says this is INT if the BR collides with the fielder about to catch the thrown ball. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double first base question | Big Slick | Softball | 25 | Thu Jul 29, 2010 02:36pm |
| Pitcher w/Multi-Colored Glove | tskill | Baseball | 12 | Wed May 11, 2005 11:14pm |
| Flesh Colored Bandaid | emaxos | Softball | 7 | Mon Mar 21, 2005 08:49am |
| First Base Question | LDUB | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:51am |
| Another double base question... | KSBlue | Softball | 3 | Tue Jun 10, 2003 02:44pm |