![]() |
|
|
|||
Look back rule
For the look back rule, what constitutes a play by the pitcher in the circle? Some umpires will say that a fake throw is a play. Recently I'm hearing that if the pitcher simply walks in the direction of a runner that is a play. Can anyone provide clarity on this?
Thank you! |
|
|||
ASA Rule 8.7.T.
EXCEPTION: The runner will not be declared out if 1. A play is made on any runner. A fake throw is considered a play, [snip] The way it has been explained is that *ANY* gesture by F1 that could cause a runner to react is enough to take off LBR.
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
Quote:
F1 simply "walking" from one part of the circle to another is not necessarily considered a "gesture" that would constitute a "play". But a slight shake of the head, would.
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
Very interesting. And yes she literally walked to the back of the circle and I thought for sure the runner on 3rd would be called out on the LBR the explanation was that she was walking and •could• have the momentum to throw it underhand to get the runner going to second. Seems to me too much judgement on this, they should try to tighten this up. His suggestion to me was to check with the umpires before the game what they view as a play to negate the lbr.
|
|
|||
"Reasonable Man" theory should prevail. Would any reasonable person have considered the possibility a play was being attempted? Should a reasonable runner have reacted to what the pitcher was doing?
If yes, then that is an attempted play. If not, should have been a LBR violation.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
But not sure why you would have an LBR out here anyway.. R1 is on 3B so she is fine, while the batter-runner who just walked, opted to continue past 1B to 2B. Even if F1s walk to the back of the circle is NOT considered making a play, so far nothing has happened which would trigger an LBR out. |
|
|||
Quote:
To the OP, checking to see how they would enforce the LBR will probably get you an answer along the lines of "as described in the book," which will put you no further along than you were before you asked.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Of one of my favorites, "Coach, when and if I see the a violation, I will call it."
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
If R1 takes off from 3B after BR passes 1B without anything from F1 that the umpire judges to be "a play or an attempted play" then you have an LBR. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Over and back rule | dbmcubs21 | Basketball | 32 | Sat Feb 26, 2011 04:34pm |
Look Back Rule | MD Longhorn | Softball | 16 | Mon May 31, 2010 09:28am |
Look Back Rule | Big Kahuna | Softball | 2 | Sun Mar 11, 2007 01:45pm |
Look-Back Rule | justmom | Softball | 2 | Sun Apr 30, 2006 07:22am |
Look Back Rule | TERRY1 | Softball | 17 | Tue Jun 08, 2004 08:26am |