The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 440
Dropped Pitch

A pitcher is in mid-windup, and drops the ball before completing the pitch to the catcher. If the ball goes forward, towards home plate, what is the ruling? If the ball goes backward, what is the ruling? Does it matter whether the ball remains in the circle or not?
__________________
Bill Hohn is the MAN!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by outathm View Post
A pitcher is in mid-windup, and drops the ball before completing the pitch to the catcher. If the ball goes forward, towards home plate, what is the ruling? If the ball goes backward, what is the ruling? Does it matter whether the ball remains in the circle or not?
Ball.

Ball.

No.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 220
Quote:
Ball
If the hands have come together after the pitcher has taken a position on the pitcher's plate. If not, the pitcher has simply dropped the ball. The LBR is off in both cases.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dacula, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by outathm View Post
A pitcher is in mid-windup, and drops the ball before completing the pitch to the catcher. If the ball goes forward, towards home plate, what is the ruling? If the ball goes backward, what is the ruling? Does it matter whether the ball remains in the circle or not?
You have been listening to baseball umpires, haven't you? (Bill Hohn probably doesn't know what a softball game is. In fact, I had to google just to find out who Bill Hohn is.) Absolutely no part of this makes any difference in softball.

If the pitch has started (in ASA and NCAA, hands have separated, in NFHS, either hands have separated OR the pitcher makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands are brought together), it is a pitch; no more, no less. Not illegal, just a pitch. Unless the batter attempts to hit it, we can assume 100% of umpires would call it a ball.

If the pitch hasn't started (hands not yet brought together; yes, the pitcher can windup prior to that point; now refer to prior paragraph for rules differences), it is simply a live ball; pitcher no longer in possession, so LBR doesn't apply. Not a pitch, not a ball, not an illegal pitch.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: BALTIMORE MARYLAND
Posts: 39
Have to be careful and not call it a ball too soon. One day some crazy batter is going to swing at this thing as it rolls across the plate at 2 MPH.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by DUNDALKCHOPPER View Post
Have to be careful and not call it a ball too soon. One day some crazy batter is going to swing at this thing as it rolls across the plate at 2 MPH.
So, if the catcher steps up and picks up the ball prior to it reaching the plate, it is.....................................
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,217
Catchers obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: BALTIMORE MARYLAND
Posts: 39
Good topic !!, OBSTRUCTION. BUT Once the pitch stops rolling (like right in front of the plate) I think we need to call time ??? so the catcher knows she can go pick it up. Or am I making this too involved.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by DUNDALKCHOPPER View Post
Good topic !!, OBSTRUCTION. BUT Once the pitch stops rolling (like right in front of the plate) I think we need to call time ??? so the catcher knows she can go pick it up. Or am I making this too involved.
Better be careful...if there are runners on they are released to run as soon as the ball leaves the pitchers hand!! So you better not kill it with runners on!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,217
Why call time? If the ball stops before it reaches the plate it cant be catchers obstuction, and if there are runners on base you may have playing action going on.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,289
Okay, next step.

What happens if the batter lays down the bat, takes off toward 1B and the ball rolls against it and stays in fair territory?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2012, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Okay, next step.

What happens if the batter lays down the bat, takes off toward 1B and the ball rolls against it and stays in fair territory?
Out for hitting the ball while out of the box?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 26, 2012, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Out for hitting the ball while out of the box?
The rule (ASA, NFHS, NCAA) simply states the batter is out if the batter's foot is on the ground outside of the BB when contact is made, fair or foul.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 27, 2012, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Okay, next step.

What happens if the batter lays down the bat, takes off toward 1B and the ball rolls against it and stays in fair territory?
Why is batter taking off, she is assuming ball four?

7-6-D does not specify this but I believe this out would be called only if the batter still had the bat in her hand. Otherwise, on a discarded bat I am going to fall back on the distinction of ball hitting the bat vs bat hitting the ball. This rule is designed to penalize a batter who is hitting the ball while outside the box.

If this is going to be ball four, I see no reason why the batter must wait for the ball to reach the plate. As long as her discarding the bat cannot be considered INT it's simply ball four and now the batter isn't a batter she is a batter-runner so 7-6 ("The batter is out:") no longer applies.

Mind you, I like to call outs as much as the next umpire, but..
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 27, 2012, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
Why is batter taking off, she is assuming ball four?

7-6-D does not specify this but I believe this out would be called only if the batter still had the bat in her hand. Otherwise, on a discarded bat I am going to fall back on the distinction of ball hitting the bat vs bat hitting the ball. This rule is designed to penalize a batter who is hitting the ball while outside the box.
Only a BR can "discard" a bat, so I don't think this would apply

Quote:
If this is going to be ball four, I see no reason why the batter must wait for the ball to reach the plate. As long as her discarding the bat cannot be considered INT it's simply ball four and now the batter isn't a batter she is a batter-runner so 7-6 ("The batter is out:") no longer applies.
Just because a ball is rolling to the plate, does not make it ball four until it reaches the plate and is touched by the catcher. After all, the batter may still attempt to hit the ball if they choose, may even miss the ball. If a runner is stealing and the batter is standing there with the bat cocked and the catcher steps out in front of the plate, that is CO. You are making an assumption of a ruling that just isn't supported by the rules. In FP, the pitch hitting the ground is not a dead ball and the play must be allowed to come to come to a conclusion.

Quote:
Mind you, I like to call outs as much as the next umpire, but..
And mind you, I'm only citing the rules which clearing state it is an out. Granted, the odds of a play like this occurring are remote, but the rules is what they is
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dropped ball, pitching

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped pitch, kicked by batter cheddarthief Baseball 3 Fri May 18, 2012 07:44pm
ASA Slow Pitch/Fast Pitch Rules Differences IRISHMAFIA Softball 8 Fri Jan 13, 2012 07:27pm
ASA Fast pitch mechanic - dropped 3rd strike Julio Caliente Softball 3 Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:34am
Batter kicks dropped pitch Ran.D Softball 2 Mon May 07, 2007 08:52am
Dropped 3 Strike on pitch in dirt Mista Bone Baseball 13 Mon Jun 27, 2005 01:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1