The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,175
DP/FLEX case 120516a

Lineup
1
2
3
4
5 DP – Ann
6 pitcher –Barb
7
8
9
Flex – Cathy
subs
Donna
Ellen
Fran
Coach wants to know if he can replace Ann with Donna,
and have Donna pitch with Barb on bench as NFB.

Then does not want Donna to bat,
so wants to have Cathy bat/run for her
and Donna (DP/pitcher) field only (like FLEX).

NFB – Non Fielding Batter
-----------------------------------------

Please comment.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Lineup
1
2
3
4
5 DP – Ann
6 pitcher –Barb
7
8
9
Flex – Cathy
subs
Donna
Ellen
Fran
Coach wants to know if he can replace Ann with Donna,
and have Donna pitch with Barb on bench as NFB.

Then does not want Donna to bat,
so wants to have Cathy bat/run for her
and Donna (DP/pitcher) field only (like FLEX).

NFB – Non Fielding Batter
-----------------------------------------

Please comment.
Well yes, to a point...

Donna can sub for Ann (so far Donna is still the DP and she can play F1)

THEN Cathy (the FLEX) can bat for Donna - but Donna will have left the game.

For Donna to pitch again, she will have to use her one re-entrty (and Donna will again be the flex)

Next at bat, Cathy can again bat for Donna, but Donna will not be able to return.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
He can do it twice by having the flex bat for the DP when its the DP's turn to bat, but the 2nd time he does it Donna is done for the game.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 06:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 758
+1

The DP can never play defense only.

Anytime the DP is not in the "offensive" line-up, the DP is considered to have left the game.

The DP and Flex may never be on offense at the same time.

The Flex may never be on offense only.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Lineup
1
2
3
4
5 DP – Ann
6 pitcher –Barb
7
8
9
Flex – Cathy
subs
Donna
Ellen
Fran
Coach wants to know if he can replace Ann with Donna,
and have Donna pitch with Barb on bench as NFB.

Then does not want Donna to bat,
so wants to have Cathy bat/run for her
and Donna (DP/pitcher) field only (like FLEX).

NFB – Non Fielding Batter
-----------------------------------------

Please comment.
He can not do what you have posted and I have bolded. He has to do what the other posts say to do.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post

Please comment.
I posted this for instructional purposes, although already knew the rule and informed the coach exactly what RKBUmp said.

I thought it was worth presenting because my partner struggled with it a bit (possibly just the coach's explanation) and apparently, an ump in another County allowed the last part (Donna (DP/pitcher) field only ).
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Someone Confirm this

Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I posted this for instructional purposes, although already knew the rule and informed the coach exactly what RKBUmp said.

I thought it was worth presenting because my partner struggled with it a bit (possibly just the coach's explanation) and apparently, an ump in another County allowed the last part (Donna (DP/pitcher) field only ).
So Donna cannot play the field only- because she originally subbed in as a DP.
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
I have to admit just reading it I wasn't following what he was doing but once I started laying it out on a lineup card it was pretty obvious
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
So Donna cannot play the field only- because she originally subbed in as a DP.
Correct.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I posted this for instructional purposes, although already knew the rule and informed the coach exactly what RKBUmp said.

I thought it was worth presenting because my partner struggled with it a bit (possibly just the coach's explanation) and apparently, an ump in another County allowed the last part (Donna (DP/pitcher) field only ).
Could you kindly pre-identify posts where you pose a question, but already know the answer.

I'd rather not waste my time trying to find the words to explain something to someone who already knows the answer.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
So Donna cannot play the field only- because she originally subbed in as a DP.
See the above explainations - Donna CAN play the field only - by having the FLEX bat for her when her at bat comes up...... but she can only re-enter once -
Donna (the DP) she can play defense till her at bat comes up (then the FLEX takes her place and Donna has left the game).
When her team goes back on defense, Donna can re-enter as the DP playing in the field.
THEN when Donna's turn to bat comes up again, the FLEX can bat for her.
Donna will have again left the game, but can not return...

So yes, Donna CAN play defense only (for a limited time).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Correct.
Thank you.

I haven't umpired in two seasons and figured I'd tackle my weak spot first. Which is the Dp/Flex .
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Correct.
I guess it's a matter of semantics....

And as I've said before - I'm not anti-semantic!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
See the above explainations - Donna CAN play the field only - by having the FLEX bat for her when her at bat comes up...... but she can only re-enter once -
Donna (the DP) she can play defense till her at bat comes up (then the FLEX takes her place and Donna has left the game).
When her team goes back on defense, Donna can re-enter as the DP playing in the field.
THEN when Donna's turn to bat comes up again, the FLEX can bat for her.
Donna will have again left the game, but can not return...

So yes, Donna CAN play defense only (for a limited time).
This helps alot. Thanks. Now did you have to think that through or was that answer by the seat of your pants ?
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2012, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
This helps alot. Thanks. Now did you have to think that through or was that answer by the seat of your pants ?
Whenever a coach comes up with one of these schemes, I have to slow down.
Sometimes I have to translate what they are saying they want to do into what they are actually doing.


Like in the example above, I really don't care what you called it, playing defense only or being replaced when she came to bat, the important thing was to know that she could only re-enter to play defense once...

Clear?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DP/FLEX mrm21711 Softball 5 Tue Apr 19, 2005 03:26pm
Reporting Flex for DP and DP for Flex shipwreck Softball 5 Tue Sep 07, 2004 02:44pm
DP Flex Again!!! Don Lowery Softball 3 Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:01am
FLEX AND DP mg43 Softball 7 Thu Jul 08, 2004 02:50pm
DP / Flex and CR Dakota Softball 33 Fri Feb 13, 2004 07:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1