The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking ASA

IF the umpire judges there is a possible play to be made and this action prevents the defense from obtaining the ball to make a play, it is INT (8.2.F.5) and the BR is out. The ball is dead and all runners return to the last base at the time of the INT
How long can you wait to make this determination? By that I mean, imagine that the ball kicks away pretty good and as a result the BR tries to take second. Can that be the play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
If Andy checks this post maybe he can remember. I believe we had almost this exact play happen at a HS game 2 or 3 years ago. I thought it went up the chain for a rules clarification, but I may be mistaken.

My recollection was as long as their was no play being attempted, it should have been treated as a blocked ball by the offense, dead ball all runners return, batter awarded 1st on the base on balls.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
If Andy checks this post maybe he can remember. I believe we had almost this exact play happen at a HS game 2 or 3 years ago. I thought it went up the chain for a rules clarification, but I may be mistaken.

My recollection was as long as their was no play being attempted, it should have been treated as a blocked ball by the offense, dead ball all runners return, batter awarded 1st on the base on balls.
I do not recall this coming from Andy or a play in Az, but I do remember a similar ruling in Pa for Fed ball.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
How long can you wait to make this determination? By that I mean, imagine that the ball kicks away pretty good and as a result the BR tries to take second. Can that be the play?
I think I'd be reluctant to go there. If there was a play at the time of the bat hitting the ball, I'd call INT. I think I'd be more inclined to kill it (blocked ball) if there was no play at the moment, but the ball being deflected CREATED an opportunity for the offense to move.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2012, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
How long can you wait to make this determination? By that I mean, imagine that the ball kicks away pretty good and as a result the BR tries to take second. Can that be the play?
With a runner on 3rd isn't that more likely to happen than not? I'm with Mike, I would kill the ball and if there was a pending play, possibly call INT

Quote:
I know that you are applying the rules as written, but I am going to play Devil's Advocate here and look at this play from a different point of view. The Batter had received four balls and was "awarded" 1B. More importantly, why is the ball rolling around up the 3B line? F2 didn't do her job in catching the pitch. The Batter/Runner may be "required" to may a better toss of her bat to the On-Deck Batter, but if F2 had done her job of catching the pitch then we would not be having this discussion.
Okay. But along that line of thought, should we just award the BR 1st on a D3K since the defense failed to do their job? Or eliminate the D3K since the batter failed to do their job by hitting the ball? Or allow runners to run over a defender when they miss a throw? Or.........well, you know. That is why there are rules because if there wasn't, we can "what if" or "why not" every situation to death.

BTW, remember, there is no requirement to discard the bat...ever.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bat Hits Ball in Box Armadillo_Blue Baseball 8 Wed May 23, 2007 09:05am
NFHS - pitched ball hits plate CLBuffalo Softball 6 Mon Jun 12, 2006 02:43pm
Ball hits bat Rachel Softball 3 Wed Apr 26, 2006 08:28am
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1